Poetry Friday: Chelsea Morning

Today’s Poetry Friday is hosted by Mary Lee @ http://readingyear.blogspot.com/
Something about the light and the mood of this morning reminded me of Joni Mitchell’s “Chelsea Morning”I’ve been listening to it ever since, over and over again, savoring its warmth and its sensory delights:
  
Chelsea Morning by Joni Mitchell 
Woke up, it was a Chelsea morning
And the first thing that I heard
Was a song outside my window
And the traffic wrote the words
It came ringing up like Christmas bells
And rapping up like pipes and drums

Oh, won’t you stay
We’ll put on the day
And we’ll wear it ’till the night comes

Woke up, it was a Chelsea morning
And the first thing that I saw
Was the sun through yellow curtains
And a rainbow on the wall *
Blue, red, green and gold to welcome you
Crimson crystal beads to beckon

(you can read the rest of the poem and hear it sung at Joni Mitchell’s website. )

For a treat, you can watch Joni herself perform the song live on BBC here:

4 thoughts on “Poetry Friday: Chelsea Morning

  1. Joni Mitchell is such a good poet. I'm glad you put Chelsea Morning in my head today (it replaces "One Is the Loneliest Number" which for some reason had been playing over and over in my mind until now!).

  2. Oh this is beautiful! Did you know that there is actually a book collaboration on Chelsea Morning done by Joni Mitchell and Brian Froud – I have actually done a short review of this beautiful picture book here: http://gatheringbooks.wordpress.com/2010/09/01/a-chelsea-morning-collaboration-–-joni-mitchell-and-brian-froud/This was part of our theme on "Picture Books that Sing" a year ago.I hope you it will give you as much pleasure as your post gave to me today.

Thank you for reading my blog! Please leave a comment and share your thoughts.

