Poetry Friday: Fireflies and "Joyful Noise"

Poetry Friday is hosted by Tabatha Yeatts: The Opposite of Indifference@ http://tabathayeatts.blogspot.com/  

Watching the fireflies dancing around our lawn and porch last night reminded me of Paul Fleishman’s collection of poems for two voices, and this one in particular:

You can enjoy more of Fleischman’s poems here:

 

 
I save these poems for those last weeks of the school year, when we “perform” them with fanciful props my kids create out of ribbons, scarves and crepe paper.  This year, I think it will be fun to try to create digital stories with these and have my kids record their expressive journeys with these marvelous poems.

6 thoughts on “Poetry Friday: Fireflies and "Joyful Noise"

  1. What a super idea! We read poems for two voices in my poetry revision club, and it was a fun activity. It makes you think of new ways to express ideas, and pushes you to consider things from another point-of-view.

  2. I bought this book when I was in college to build my classroom library. It was suggested by my children's literature professor (who was so knowledgable!). Love it!

  3. Oh I love this book too! I used it as part of the culminating activity of a workshop I conducted with gifted/talented children in the Philippines – the poems are such a hit! There's a lyrical and interactive quality to it that is unparalleled and perfect for performances. Thank you for reminding me of this. Great choice!

Thank you for reading my blog! Please leave a comment and share your thoughts.

