I am thankful for….

 I saw this while I was checking  Cardigans and Curriculum to see what was happening in Casey Orr’s classroom and came upon this:

Thanksgiving may have come and gone, but it’s never too late to express one’s gratitude in response to the following:
 
1.  What are you thankful for in your classroom?
That’s easy…my kids.  Year after year I have been unbelievably lucky in having  students willing, ready and able (in that order) to make the transition into middle school learning – they’ve given me the chance to experiment with the curriculum, to rise to any challenge and to explore new ways to learn what we have to learn.  They walk into our room day after day, year after year, willing to place their trust in my abilities as a teacher.  They motivate me to commit to being a better teacher every single day. 

2. What person are you most thankful for?

That’s another easy one…my husband.   Sometimes it feels as though I read, breathe and live my teaching  life – but he puts up with all of that, understands why I feel so passionately about my profession, and encourages me to do what I need to do to grow as an educator.

3. What 3 blogs are you most thankful for?

Stacey and Ruth at Two Writing Teachers : two pros who nurture and encourage teachers every day.
Mary Lee and Franki at A Year of Reading: two authors/book pundits who seem to have just the right book to suggest on a daily basis.
Kevin at Kevin’s Meandering Mind:  I don’t know how he manages to do all he does with his sixth graders while staying ahead of the technology curve and alongside  curriculum needs, but he does and he makes it look like so much fun that you want to try his ideas, too.

4. What guilty pleasure are you most thankful for?

I know I should be mentioning books, book sites, teacher stuff…but these get me through the day. 

5. What are you most thankful for?

My (own) children – three awesome human beings.  I got into education because of them, and they inspire me to live up to their expectation that their own mom should be  a great teacher.
 One last thank you must be added on, and that would be for all the dedicated teachers I’ve known and continue to meet – education is facing some very difficult times at the moment, but teachers continue to believe in the importance of what they do and soldier on.  I’m grateful to belong to a profession like that.  Join in the conversation at What the Teacher Wants and leave your thoughts!
2 thoughts on “I am thankful for….

Thank you for reading my blog! Please leave a comment and share your thoughts.

