Reading Challenge 2012

2012 has not yet begun, but I already have a OLW to guide me and so feel ready for another goal: Myra’s 2012 Award Winning Books Reading Challenge over at Gathering Books.  Myra has various levels to choose from, but, being in the mood to accept challenges with enthusiasm (for the moment, anyway!), I am trying for: 
  • Level 4 (over 35 books) – Platinum Award

Why sign on? I feel that I have fallen into a rut – I read teaching oriented books, lots of them, as do all teachers, but I realize that I’ve become pretty limited in my range of reading.  I can’t remember the last time I read fiction, for instance!  And, while shopping for Christmas gifts, I was dazzled by so many books (award winning and otherwise) I WANT to read.
So, what better way to be motivated to get going than a reading challenge?!  Myra has a list of titles, and I have bookmarked a list of titles myself…now for the most immediate challenge – choosing one to begin this reading adventure.  Thank you, Myra!

7 thoughts on “Reading Challenge 2012

  1. Hi Tara! I'm so glad that you decided to join – and thank you too for coming on board with the reading challenge! I know what you mean about being stuck with textbooks and academic materials – I breathe book chapters and dissertation materials for a living – and fiction is my escape. Picture books and poetry are my lifeline to sanity!!! 🙂 I'm looking forward to reading your reviews of award-winning books 🙂 Yay for Level 4!!! 🙂

  2. Hi Tara, I'm excited that you decided to join. I am in, but at a lower level. I just haven't been writing very many reviews, & thought I'd start small. I love that Myra has found lists of award-winning books all over the world. It will expand my reading knowledge I think.

  3. That sounds like a great way to read more books. The review part is definitely challenging. I've tried writing some reviews on Goodreads recently and I'm finding it hard to strike a balance between being honest and being nice. I don't like saying something negative about a book I enjoyed, but I appreciate the reviews that point of a book's flaws as well as it's high points. Knowing both the good and bad helps me make a more informed decision about whether or not to read the book.

Thank you for reading my blog! Please leave a comment and share your thoughts.

