Slice of Life Tuesday: Kisses across a crowded subway

Slice of Life Tuesday is hosted by Stacey and Ruth at Two Writing Teachers
 
     I thought I was the last one to be be able to squeeze into the #1 subway heading downtown from 116th. Street to Penn Station – it was rush hour, and (this being New York City) hordes of people were on the move.  As the doors closed, however, I was soon aware of a little someone behind me, so I inched to the side and tried to make room for her to pass further into the car and safety.  Someone else made way for the little pink coat, and soon a pigtailed munchkin was safely perched on a sliver of space left on the crowded bench.  
     She must have been a native New Yorker, because she looked unconcerned by the heaving crowd of subway riders, packed shoulder to shoulder, up and down the length of the car.  She was cute as a button, and the teacher in me quickly sized her up as a first grader.  Shouldering a small purple backpack, legs dangling several inches above the floor, I noticed that she was blowing kisses and mouthing “I love you, too” to whoever it was standing directly behind me.  The next station stop brought even more people on board, and we shuffled a bit deeper into the car – but the little girl sat firmly in her seat, still continuing her pantomime. Kiss-I love you-pause-kiss-I love you-pause.  Mama could not hold her little one’s hand or sit beside her, but this was almost as good. 
     For  the next five subway stops, mama and her little one kept in touch across the crowded subway, keeping eye contact and trading their message of love and comfort.  Half the subway car emptied at Penn Station, and as I hurried up the platform I could not help but look in just to make sure…yep, they were finally sitting side by side, as they knew they eventually would – the little one tucked under her mama’s protective wing at last.
 

16 thoughts on “Slice of Life Tuesday: Kisses across a crowded subway

  1. A perfect slice. One little sweet moment captured with just the right words. Thanks for sharing it. I hope you don't mind if I use it as a mentor text today. I want to share it as a snapshot moment!

  2. What a great slice. I was so relieved to see that the mom was with her. At first I thought it was going to be that she was blowing kisses out the window.I love Elsie's comment. I have loved how participating in SOLS and other scrapbooking projects like Project Life and One Little Word have been helping me to observe and celebrate the everyday more than I had in the past.

  3. A beautiful moment captured! I, too, wonder if anyone else noticed this little interaction playing out between a mother and her daughter. Love the visuals you created with your words, especially the last scene with mama and her baby under her wing.

  4. That is a slice of your life. Thanks for taking the time to put it in words. I love the details, like the small purple backpack to help us recreate the scene in our minds.

  5. I guess that is why I like slices…they are like snapshots – what a photographer would try to capture with a camera, is captured with words by a writer. "Legs dangling several inches above the floor"…who needs a camera?Thanks for the sweet picture.

Thank you for reading my blog! Please leave a comment and share your thoughts.

