Slice of Life March Challenge: #21 – happening by my "dream car" and feeling instantly better

The Slice of Life March Challenge is  hosted by Stacey and Ruth at Two Writing Teachers


Long day today…up to 2:45 last night (this morning!) grading tests and tweaking thesis statements and reading journal entries…then a full day teaching … by 4 this afternoon I was pretty much useless for much of anything.  As I was packing up to go home, I surveyed my desk, looked at the stacks of feature articles I needed to review by writing workshop tomorrow….. and decided to leave all of it there for the next day, I’ll just deal with it then.  Tired, cranky and hungry, I could hardly wait to get home… actually, I could hardly wait for the day to be over.  Would 6 o’clock be an appropriate time to get into jammies and crawl into bed? Who was there to say otherwise? My mind was occupied  with weighty thoughts like these when I saw something that changed my mood entirely…my dream car!

Yes, a 1970 VW bug convertible, in a gorgeous, cheerful RED!  Right next to me, sitting there at the intersection, waiting for the light to change.  My heart began beating faster.  From the vantage point of my minivan, I could see that the interior (the top was down – heaven!) looked delightfully comfortable – exactly like the space one would need after a long day at work.  The young lady at the wheel looked so happy to be there, as would I, as would anyone!  Could I imagine myself there? You bet!  My windows were open, and I lowered the volume on the radio to listen in to the tunes coming from next door – the Grateful Dead!  And my favorite Dead song, “Not Fade Away”… perfect.  Soon, the light changed and my dream car faded away.  But my mood had changed…I was still tired, but much more cheerful. I will be dreaming of cruising around in a cherry red 1970 VW convertible Bug, listening to:
4 thoughts on “Slice of Life March Challenge: #21 – happening by my "dream car" and feeling instantly better

  1. How much fun! And you're tired! Thanks. Your post brought back a memory—My boyfriend bought me an old '68 baby blue Volkswagen when we were in college. It wasn't a convertible but boy did I feel cool. My parents didn't think the gift was appropriate but I guess, they didn't chase the boyfriend off. The Volkswagen isn't around anymore but the boyfriend is. Have a great day tomorrow!

  2. What a fun story! I remember when my cousin's dream car was a powder blue VW bug convertible. She wanted to get one and he a license plate that said FSHBWL. She talked about it so much I started dreaming of it for her. She was a lot older than me and I was very sad when she turned 16 and got a different car.Thanks for sharing how just picturing yourself in that car turned your mood around. Maybe I'll go to bed and be thinking of myself driving in my dream car and have a good night's sleep tonight.

Thank you for reading my blog! Please leave a comment and share your thoughts.

