Poetry Friday/Slice of Life March Challenge: Finally…Spring is here!

          
Poetry Friday is hosted by Mary Lee at A Reading Life

 The March Slice of Life Challenge is hosted by Stacey and Ruth at Two Writing Teachers

What a glorious week it has been – windows thrown wide open, we’ve watched the forsythia bloom and the first daffodils of the season make their appearance.  Tomorrow, we will take our reading workshop outside…my kids can’t wait.  Spring Break is a week away, but the spirit of Spring Break is already here…you know this when you catch your students gazing out the window with that dreamy, I’m on a beach somewhere already, look.  Just to tantalize us even further, the cherry blossoms across the street burst into their full glory today.  We stood by the window to admire it this afternoon, and one of my kids said, longingly, “I wish I was that tree so I could be out THERE not IN HERE…no offense, Mrs. Smith.”  
No offense taken….I have a case of Spring Fever as well.

Today

BY BILLY COLLINS

If ever there were a spring day so perfect,
so uplifted by a warm intermittent breeze

that it made you want to throw
open all the windows in the house

and unlatch the door to the canary’s cage,
indeed, rip the little door from its jamb,

a day when the cool brick paths
and the garden bursting with peonies

seemed so etched in sunlight
that you felt like taking

a hammer to the glass paperweight
on the living room end table,

releasing the inhabitants
from their snow-covered cottage

so they could walk out,
holding hands and squinting

into this larger dome of blue and white,
well, today is just that kind of day.


12 thoughts on “Poetry Friday/Slice of Life March Challenge: Finally…Spring is here!

  1. "indeed, rip the little door from its jamb," Oh, Tara, Billy Collins is so inspiring. What a gorgeous set of words! We too have blooms arriving daily. It is so early for us. I want to tell you thanks for the support-it is so appreciated! And-I read a couple of your past posts. Your students' blog posts are wonderfully interactive & perceptive. I always love hearing your background of what you've done to prepare them & it seems you do it so very well. It sounds like you're pleased with the accomplishment & well you should be! Happy Spring!

  2. A new Billy Collins poem for me- I love the image of the snow globe people holding hands and squinting as they leave the snow covered cottage. Thank you for sharing! Our break is also in one week!

  3. Dearest Tara, I love the poems of Billy Collins and this one in particular promises to be a new favorite. These are my favorite lines:"releasing the inhabitantsfrom their snow-covered cottageso they could walk out,holding hands and squintinginto this larger dome of blue and white,"– often I realize now that I complain and whine about the humidity and the heat here in sunny Singapore, not realizing how thoroughly blessed we are to have radiance and golden sunshine the whole year round. Thank you for reminding me of this.

  4. I'm sure a few teachers too woill be sitting in meetings, looking out windows, with that dreamy I'm on a beach somewhere look. I really liked the way you included a poem in your post. Thank you

  5. What an uplifting post! New Collins poem for me. Spring has definitely sprung! Thanks for spreading the fever :). We can't have any flowers in our yard because of the deer, so these cherry blossoms really cheered me up.

  6. We're ready for spring break too, but another week of school to go! This is a lovely tribute to spring. It's a new one for me too. I especially love these lines: "unlatch the door to the canary's cage,indeed, rip the little door from its jamb…" so beautiful!

  7. Spring is glorious! A rebirth from the winter. Next week will be tough to keep attention with that gorgeous cherry tree outside. Billy Collins is a new poet for me, thanks for the introduction.

  8. "I wish I was that tree so I could be out THERE not IN HERE…" And yet, he does want to be with you…"no offense" because in your room he can express his feelings and thoughts. I remember those fever pitched days and I envy you and I celebrate the rest you will have during spring break.

Thank you for reading my blog! Please leave a comment and share your thoughts.

