Slice of Life March Challenge #28: Slicing about not slicing

The March Slice of Life Challenge is hosted by Stacey and Ruth at Two Writing Teachers
Today was the day, the day I officially ran out of juice as far as the Slice of Life Challenge is concerned.  I’ve sliced every day, I’ve posted as many comments as I can fit into a 24 hour window, and I’ve genuinely enjoyed every bit of it.  But, today I hit a wall:
Every writing idea  I came up with seemed stale…and every entry I began just petered out and felt lame.  Perhaps it’s because we are two days away from Spring Break, and I am working doubly hard to keep my kids focused in class. 
Perhaps it’s because I myself am getting ready to fly out to London on Friday night…and my thoughts are preoccupied with how to get the house in order here and what to pack.
Perhaps it’s because I’m just realizing that March is a long month….and one only has so much to say.
Perhaps it’s because my writing brain needs a holiday – new experiences to twirl around, new sensations to enjoy.
Perhaps it’s because my writing brain is already envisioning experiences here:
The British Museum
and here:
The Tate Modern  
or here:
The Ashmolean, Oxford University
and here:
Mulberry Walk – my parents’ home
10 thoughts on “Slice of Life March Challenge #28: Slicing about not slicing

  1. Have an absolutely wonderful trip…and my favorite picture is from Mulberry Walk—your parents' home (I noticed you used home and not house—a much more descriptive word to me). Enjoy!

  2. I think we are all running out of that steam . . . slowly. But here you still did it. You still wrote and it was fantastic! That's called massaging the writing brain – and you are getting it prepared to take in every grandiose and minute detail of London! Enjoy your trip and your parents! What fun! Be safe.

  3. Tara, I can easily imagine that you just might be a little scattered. All those places, especially HOME, so exciting. Have a little of London for me, hello to Prince William & Kate, or ? Happy rest of the week with your students, but most especially Happy Travels!

  4. This post reminds me of an SOL entry one of my students did about not knowing what to write. It was actually very funny. His mom wrote me a note and apologized for his entry and said she would be more on top of it the next day. I immediately emailed her back and told her that his post was perfect for that day. Slice of Life is writing about what's on your mind and that's what was on his mind. Have a wonderful time in London!

Thank you for reading my blog! Please leave a comment and share your thoughts.

