Slice of Life March Challenge: #31 – Thank you fellow slicers…and thank you Stacey and Ruth!

The March Slice of Life Challenge is hosted by Stacey and Ruth at Two Writing Teachers

Well, here we are, the last slice of the March Challenge.  I first want to thank Stacey and Ruth for giving us a chance to “meet” this way as a writing community.  Even though the last few days were particularly challenging, I came away from this experience feeling so enriched by the efforts of other writers – through their writing, and through the comments they left on my writing.  Writing is, by its very nature, a solitary endeavor.  But the March Challenge allows us an instant audience, and for the space of that month of taking our writing public, it becomes a community effort.  In the daily thought process of generating an idea about something to slice about, I revisited notebooks and explored crannies in my memories – I became a more methodical and deliberate writer.  So thank you, Stacey and Ruth, for giving me the chance to practice the craft of writing with a built-in cheering team – all of those who read and responded to my slices.

And, to all who visited my blog and left their thoughts, thank you.  It’s hard to write a slice and then navigate your way through 150 + slices, leaving bits of thinking along the way.  I think all of us found our comfort zones – knowing that we could not read every slice (for want of time) but wanting to be generous readers of others’ hard work.  It was also wonderful to move beyond our Tuesday slicing group and “meet” writers and educators across the country and in other parts of the world.  I learned so much from all you chose to write about and share…and felt honored by your bravery and willingness to be open about the losses and challenges some of you are facing.  I was inspired, too, by the way this community committed itself to the craft of writing – there was such a rich variety of techniques and forms explored in our slicing group!
10 thoughts on “Slice of Life March Challenge: #31 – Thank you fellow slicers…and thank you Stacey and Ruth!

  1. It's always a pleasure to visit you, Tara, & I never failed to learn something. I know by now you may be flying across the ocean. And I hope you're already thinking of Tuesday's slice-te he. What will you share is the big question.

  2. Tara, it has been delightful to interact with you around this Slice of Life Table. I have enjoyed your posts, and am grateful for your encouraging comments on my blog. See you Tuesday!

  3. What a month it has been! So many slicers, new and old, peeking into so many lives. Thanks for the opportunity to peek into your life. I can't wait to learn about London through your experiences. Thanks for your words you left for me, it encourages the writer in me to continue.

  4. I totally agree with your post! I have learned so much about my self as a writer having this new-found "audience"…I have learned so mych about writing through reading "mentor blog" like yours!

  5. Tara, I have so enjoyed growing our writing lives together! Thank you for your encouraging words! I know that feeling you did want to comment on everyone's, but just knew it wasn't possible. I look forward to "seeing" you on Tuesdays! Enjoy spring break!!!

Thank you for reading my blog! Please leave a comment and share your thoughts.

