Slice of Life Tuesday: And so the school year begins!

Slice of Life Tuesday is hosted by Stacey and Ruth at Two Writing Teachers
 
7:00 a.m. Tuesday morningI arrive at my classroom door laden down with boxes of plants and bags of books. Although I have been working at unpacking and setting up my classroom for the past week, I feel as though there is so much left to do. Will I be ready for my students tomorrow? Will our room be welcoming? Will all the adjustments and improvements I’ve made in our units of study, our classroom arrangement, our  library selections  make this year a year to savor and remember for my new sixth graders?  I unlock the door, turn on the lights…and begin to work.
3:30 p.m.  Tuesday afternoon – Well, that’s it.  There is not a single thing I have not done several times over already to be prepared for Opening Day.  I stand at my classroom door and take one last glance around.  Tomorrow, at this very moment, all those neatly labeled nameplates will have faces to go with them.  I will have begun the journey of getting to know 42 young people who will spend the school year learning, and doing and sharing and experiencing sixth grade.   Our writing folders will fill up with stories and poems and essays, our bulletin boards will explode with the projects and maps and reports we create, our in-boxes and out-boxes will be filled to the brim with the this and that  of our work, our project table will have baskets of resources and work folders  – our class will take on that lived-in, we-are-a-work-in-progress look it does every year.
My heart skips a beat.  I love the relaxed pace of summer, and I have enjoyed every moment of the summer that has just come to an end.  But, now I am ready for the school year…I can hardly wait to begin!
6 thoughts on “Slice of Life Tuesday: And so the school year begins!

  1. I love that end part that begins with "I will have begun the journey of getting to know 42 young people …". Such a nice beginning response to your anticipation of the year. Best wishes for a really lovely day tomorrow, & all the rest too, Tara.

  2. 42 kids??? Shouldn't it be more like 24 new kids for the year in one classroom???? Hats off to you. Usually I was just beginning to put my room in order on that first day of school. Good thing I had posters that never wanted to leave my room. :)Have a great year friend. See you soon,Bonnie

Thank you for reading my blog! Please leave a comment and share your thoughts.

