Poetry Friday: (Sort of ) Celebrating Halloween a little early….

Poetry Friday is hosted by Linda at Teacherdance

Next Wednesday is Halloween…and I’ll be the first to admit that I am NOT a fan of this day.  I dislike the whole costume-and-candy hoopla, and I especially dislike the way Halloween changes the whole teaching day – my students walk in excitable and wild…and stay that way all day. Sigh. But, there is one aspect about Halloween that I really do love and enjoy – jack o’lanterns, especially ones that look like this:
  

And, I also love the fact that Halloween comes at a time when trees look like this:

And, I also love the fact that this time of year reminds us of poems like this:

Theme in Yellow

BY CARL SANDBURG

I SPOT the hills
With yellow balls in autumn.
I light the prairie cornfields
Orange and tawny gold clusters
And I am called pumpkins.
On the last of October
When dusk is fallen
Children join hands
And circle round me
Singing ghost songs
And love to the harvest moon;
I am a jack-o’-lantern
With terrible teeth
And the children know
I am fooling.
And this:

Song of the Witches

BY WILLIAM SHAKESPEARE

Double, double toil and trouble;
Fire burn and caldron bubble.
Fillet of a fenny snake,
In the caldron boil and bake;
Eye of newt and toe of frog,
Wool of bat and tongue of dog,
Adder’s fork and blind-worm’s sting,
Lizard’s leg and howlet’s wing,
For a charm of powerful trouble,
Like a hell-broth boil and bubble.

Double, double toil and trouble;
Fire burn and caldron bubble.
Cool it with a baboon’s blood,
Then the charm is firm and good.
Happy Halloween, everyone!
11 thoughts on “Poetry Friday: (Sort of ) Celebrating Halloween a little early….

  1. Such a wonderful post for this week! (I'm afraid I'm a die-hard Halloween fan.) That Sandburg poem is one of my favorites, and I hadn't read it in a while. Thanks for sharing both, and for the great pix. (Those jack-o-lanterns look so happy!)

  2. We have so much in common it is amazing. I am posting on Halloween my OLW reflection and it's similar to your post! Thanks for sharing both poems! Enjoy your Friday

  3. Love that Frost poem! I agree with you about the holiday, and appreciate your sharing the positive aspects of the season :). I'm quite fond of eye of newt, actually . . .

  4. Song of the Witches is an absolute favorite! I have to admit that Halloween and Autumn now have a different nuance for me thanks to Ray Bradbury (I've been reading his The October Country and just finished with his Something Wicked this Way Comes) – and I'm loving it! Appeals to the darkness and red and golden in me.

  5. I love "I spot the hills/With yellow balls of autumn". Sandburg there reminds me of a painter, & of course he is, though with words. And I love that tree photo, Tara. It is so gorgeous. Is it a tree near you? I love Halloween and our school make a really big deal of it, even some parents dress up. But coming in the middle of the week is not the best timing this year, & we'll all be exhausted the next day. Thanks for the nicest spooky post.

  6. Tara–Two rich reminders of our human dance with the dead! I especially enjoyed the Sandburg poem, which I hadn't known. I think I might have to add it to my Halloween poetry week next year! (Too late this year–as far as I can tell we might actually have days off school this week due to Frankenstorm Sandy…BOO-hoo!)

  7. Hi, Tara. The Shakespeare excerpt is speaking to me today. I spent yesterday evening at a Celtic celebration which included a cauldron stone. Lots of magical things happening at this season.

Thank you for reading my blog! Please leave a comment and share your thoughts.

