Slice of Life Tuesday: Keeping faith with our old oak tree

Slice of Life Tuesday is hosted by Stacey and Ruth at Two Writing Teachers
Thank you, Stacey, for opening up the Slice of Life postings today…who knows what the storm will do this evening…but at least I know that I’ll be able to Slice right now…while we still have power!
Sandy is making her way up the coast, and the news is not good.  Just an hour ago, we learned that the subway system in New York City will be shut down later this evening, and Mayor Bloomberg has announced that we can expect the bridges and tunnels to be closed as well.  We’ve been running around purchasing things we will need to ride out the storm, and the last of our lawn furniture in safely tucked away in our garage.  I’ve baked a double batch of oatmeal-chocolate-chip cookies, and am almost done with the laundry (for the first time, ever, the laundry baskets are completely empty – it’s all done!), and am ready to get started on a lovely stew…it should be done at about the same time as the first bouts of wind and rain arrive.
Now, I look out of our third floor skylights and take another look at our magnificent oak tree.  It’s arms have stretched over our house for over a hundred and fifty years – laden with emerald leaves in the spring and summer, golden ones in the fall, and shawls of snow in winter.  When storms have raged through our area in the past, we have stood by the porch, kept our fingers crossed, and listened worriedly to its groans.  And, when the storms passed, we’d go outside to wave to it in relieved triumph; a joyous “Congratulations, you made it!” 



But, will its luck (and ours) hold out tonight and tomorrow?  Our neighbor urged us to cut the tree down last spring – we had tree surgeons out to inspect it, and chose to believe them: the tree is strong, they said, we can’t guarantee anything, but…  They did not need to complete their sentences – how could we imagine cutting down this magnificent being? It seemed, for want of a better word, a sin to even contemplate such an act.  
But…we shall have to see what the night brings.   Right now, we are keeping faith with our tree.

17 thoughts on “Slice of Life Tuesday: Keeping faith with our old oak tree

  1. I just read this post to my husband and I started with this sentence. Tara is my virtual friend who lives in NYC. I appreciate our connections along with allowing me to live virtually in your wonderful city. Your post touched me as we have many huge tress on our property, and I realize how important your tree is to your family. Positive thought and prayers will be with your family as well as those in the path of the storm.

  2. Thanks, Maria! We're keeping our fingers crossed. We're about 40 minutes from Manhattan, in New Jersey, but from the top of our street we have a clear view of the city – all the way to where the Twin Towers used to stand. Thanks again for your thoughts, my (virtual) friend!

  3. OMG, I made chocolate chip cookies too! Isabelle actually helped me for the first time.Good luck riding out the storm. If you're 40 mins. from Manhattan, then you're probably pretty close to my folks. I hope you're all safe… from the tree and all of the forces of nature!

  4. Wishing you a safe storm. While I do not wish for anyone to have a storm of any strength, I have to say it is really something special to log into this writing community and hear these first person accounts of how the weather/news is impacting you. It would have been something very distant and far from my mind, but not I have these personal accounts in my head and heart and I will be more in tune with what is going on in the NE these upcoming days. Thank you for sharing and stay safe! (PS: BEAUTIFUL tree!)

  5. Okay….I want to eat all your cookies and get cozy after your post. I will pray for your oak tree. I hate when neighbors suggest cutting things down especially the ancient. Maybe because I'm getting ancient too. 🙂 xo nanc

  6. I thought sure I commented on this yesterday, but maybe I was called away for something & then forgot, Tara. I'm really hoping you're all okay, & that your tree lives to see another as well. This is such a sweet post, keeping faith for your old tree.

  7. I love trees and especially these lines about your magnificent oak – "It's arms have stretched over our house for over a hundred and fifty years – laden with emerald leaves in the spring and summer, golden ones in the fall, and shawls of snow in winter." What a powerful image! I can't wait to hear from you next week. I'm keeping faith with you and your tree.

Thank you for reading my blog! Please leave a comment and share your thoughts.

