Slice of Life Tuesday: One storm down…one more to go…

Slice of Life Tuesday is hosted by Stacey and Ruth at Two Writing Teachers
As a general rule, as I go about my day, I don’t pay much mind to the sound of the wind.  But last Monday, when hurricane Sandy slammed into our neighborhood, I began listening very closely to the wind.  It whistled and whooshed, it whispered then roared, it sang and then screamed.  I learned that, if I listened very carefully, I could hear it take its first breath, then draw in deeply and let go in a terrifying blast.  I think it was that last part which was most nerve wracking, especially as it grew dark and became difficult to see which way the wind was blowing.

While it was still daylight, we kept watch on our oak tree – checking its swaying branches through our skylights,   and offering it words of encouragement, comfort.  As it grew dark, and the wind continued to rage, we grew more cautious.  We stayed downstairs, gathered  by the fireplace (now that our neighborhood was without power) and listened…waited.  There was suddenly another sound we did not recognize – a thud and then a swish, as though leaves and branches had come to rest above us. Which they had – the oak tree by the side of our house had come to lean against the side of the house, as though weary from the storm.  And, for the rest of  Sandy’s presence in our neighborhood, that is how our two oaks fared – one wearily done with it all, and one bravely soldiering on.  

With daylight, after the winds were finally silent and spent, this is what we saw, first  at home:
and then down one side of the street:
and then elsewhere in the neighborhood:
But, we were lucky.  So many people lost everything they had, and (even as another nor’easter bears down on us) are still struggling to figure out where to go, what to do, how to get by.  We’ve given to the Red Cross,  and are reaching out to other organizations and citizen’s groups to do our part  (Stacey posted about a wonderful opportunity with Donor’s Choose on Sunday and then again today).  In the quiet, without the wind to listen to, we think about what we can do to help.
9 thoughts on “Slice of Life Tuesday: One storm down…one more to go…

  1. I am so glad you posted Tara, I've been worried about you and your oak trees. I love your description of the various sounds of the wind. How sad to lose such big trees in the neighborhood. I hope this next storm dies out soon.

  2. Oh Tara, the pictures are heartbreaking. All those trees. I'm so sorry for all of it. Your description is exactly right. We've had wind like that, although almost never the rain, which I've heard is one of the problems. The trees just can't hold on to such soggy ground. I'm glad for you that it was only the younger tree & little damage. Thank you for sharing about it.

  3. OMG, that line of uprooted trees that you photographed floored me. I've seen it before (here in Central PA after Tropical Storm Irene), but the image gave me pause.How lucky you are to be okay! I know we emailed the other day, but it still feels good to know you have power and are slicing today!

  4. Tara, I am so happy that you and your family are safe even though you sustained some damage. Your description of the wind is awesome and we've experienced similar sounds here during the ice storm. We pray that the approaching storm will end quickly and with no further damage.

  5. Isn't it funny what we are thankful for? Wind, no power and a few old oak trees down. Inconvenienced? Yes, but ever so thankful because it could have been so much worse. I'm so glad that you and your family are safe and only hope this new storm brewing dies quickly. Hang in there!

  6. Glad you and your family are ok. It's hard to imagine those giant trees being blown over. I love the way these sentences sound, It whistled and whooshed, it whispered then roared, it sang and then screamed. I learned that, if I listened very carefully, I could hear it take its first breath, then draw in deeply and let go in a terrifying blast."

  7. Thanks for updating us. I've been holding my breath and thinking about your tree ever since last week's post. Your description of the wind – a perfect example of personification for my students.

  8. WOW! Those pictures are amazing! We didn't really get much of a storm here in Ohio — not nearly what they had predicted. I absolutely loved your first paragraph about the wind! Your verbs were so strong and vivid.

Thank you for reading my blog! Please leave a comment and share your thoughts.

