Slice of Life Tuesday: Book Club excitement!

 Slice of Life Tuesday is hosted by Stacey and Ruth at Two Writing Teachers

     Book Clubs are here at last! Yesterday, I played book trailers and book talked each selection, and then my kids signed up – such excitement in the classroom, everyone seemed to have their “I hope I get…” choices.  At the end of the school day, before I had even had a chance to so much as take a peek at their sign up sheets, they were at the door – do you know yet?  did you make the groups? did I get my first choice?  I shooed them out…wait until tomorrow, I promised, you’ll get your books.
     So, tomorrow is here…tomorrow is now!  I hand out the books and the room is abuzz – groups form in small clusters and the first reading assignments are decided upon.  Then there is a rush for the post-it box, pencils and pens are reached for, and then……

 

 
…let the reading begin….!!!
And here’s our note taking template, all ready to be filled out by tomorrow’s meetings….


 

                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                  
11 thoughts on “Slice of Life Tuesday: Book Club excitement!

  1. Hi Tara,Thanks for your post. How exciting that the kids are revved up for book clubs! I would have loved to have been a fly on the wall in your class when you announced the book groups. Enjoy the children's enthusiasm!

  2. I have always been tickled at the sight of my group of kids scattered about the room reading. And now I'm still tickled when I see other classes! Way to build the excitement!

  3. I love the note template! How perfect to guide their thinking. I will be sharing that gem with some teachers, thank you very much! It's so nice to read about kids who are excited about reading. They have a great mentor in you.

  4. Oh Tara, your wonderful post makes me miss teaching 7th graders — they loved finding out who was in their book group (and then of course what book it would be). I can tell you must be a wonderful teacher — those students are lucky. Thanks for sharing!I

  5. Tara, thanks for the pictures. We're in the middle of book clubs for Newbery possibilities. Tonight I was at school far too late working out the next book groups. But the students are clamoring for their next book, and tomorrow's the day to get the new books. Thanks for sharing the photos and the template!

  6. Tara,I could feel the excitement in your post! I love the feeling that engaged readers brings to my heart-it's so exciting to see them in the groove!Thanks for sharing-keep us posted on how it's going!

  7. Once again we're on the same page. We just started book clubs and my whole class is a buzz! I love seeing how you organized their notebook. Thanks for sharing.

Thank you for reading my blog! Please leave a comment and share your thoughts.

