Slice of Life Tuesday: Acceptance…one little word…

 Slice of Life Tuesday is hosted by Stacey and Ruth at Two Writing Teachers
Acceptance.  My word for this year.  As it came to a close, I was happy to bid 2012 goodbye. My own little world seemed to lurch along in the same wild rhythm as the larger universe: there were sudden developments, alarming crises, and moments of great terror.   There were times when I had to accept that I had no control over certain events, and others in which I had to simply accept outcomes – life does not always work in accordance with ones plans and hopes and efforts. One has to accept that.  
Today, a new year begins, and l look forward to it.  My children will be at the dinner table, and for a few days we will still have them all in the same place to enjoy, to marvel over, to cherish.  I accept the fact that they must discover their own individual destinies, and that the next few years will mean seeing less of them in the way they will be this evening – all gathered around the family dinner table.  I accept the fact that they must face their own difficulties and challenges, and that they will rise to them.
Tomorrow I return to my classroom, my kids.  We have a lot of learning left to accomplish in the school year, and I accept that this, too, will mean an embrace of a certain type of acceptance – the fight against standardized testing, against apathy among colleagues, the fight for a curriculum and standards I believe in, a fight for my kids and their learning environment.
And then there is, always, the acceptance of listening for the wisdom of others who can frame a thought, a philosophy, a prayer, a wish in ways I cannot…and to find comfort and hope in their words.  Others, for example, like the following poet who speaks to me today in this way:

A Thousand Mornings

All night my heart makes its way
however it can over the rough ground
of uncertainties, but only until night
meets and then is overwhelmed by
morning, the light deepening, the
wind easing and just waiting, as I
too wait (and when have I ever been
disappointed?) for redbird to sing.

Mary Oliver

10 thoughts on “Slice of Life Tuesday: Acceptance…one little word…

  1. Tara, I think I must get that book, maybe for my IPad, to have always with me? You have shared the loveliest poems lately. I like the word 'acceptance'. Clearly it is something we all need to acknowledge, that we must accept certain events over which no control is available. Darn it-I thought I was going to be the boss of the world! Have a wonderful rest of your time with your children. And best to you back tomorrow.

  2. Your word will bring you peace when you encounter those challenges we cannot change. Enjoy your family and have a fun day tomorrow when your kids return full of the excitement of the holidays.

  3. Mary Oliver is a treasure, right?Of all the beautiful words in your post today, the one that stands out to me is MARVEL. I have this urgency to spend time alongside of my kids, building snowmen, painting fingernails, cooking concoctions in the kitchen. And then I read about how you still marvel in the presence of your children and it gives me hope that this marvel will last even after they become adults. We may not be snapping together train tracks, but the marvel and magic of a family will remain.Enjoy today. A fresh start (even in the middle of the year) is always a good thing.Ruth

  4. We are soul sisters with our one little word and our love of Mary Oliver. (Although, I suspect there are many who love Mary Oliver.) I, too, have adult children to send forth into the world, one who flew far away to go back to school. It is hard to let them go, but a dear friend reminded me that this is what we work for. We strive to give them the confidence to fly and a safe nest to return to. I have a few more days to think about the new beginning with my students, but I want to make it meaningful. Happy New Year!

Thank you for reading my blog! Please leave a comment and share your thoughts.

