It’s Monday and here’s what I’m reading: Monday, January 21, 2013

Monday YA Round Up
It’s Monday! What Are You Reading is hosted by Jen and Kellee at Teach Mentor Texts
Nonfiction Monday is hosted by LibrarYAn
 
 
In honor of Dr. King, I purchased this glorious book for our classroom library:

 
The book contains a synopsis of the speech, the full text of the speech and a CD of Dr. King’s stirring speech.   Of course, accompanying all that are the stunning illustrations by Kadir Nelson:


 

And, in honor of our President, I also purchased:

Of Thee I Sing: Of Thee I Sing by Barack Obama
 
This beautiful, lyrical book pays homage to thirteen groundbreaking Americans, from Georgia O’Keeffe to George Washington.  Here is my favorite page:
 
 

Of Thee I Sing: Of Thee I Sing by Barack Obama

 

7 thoughts on “It’s Monday and here’s what I’m reading: Monday, January 21, 2013

  1. I haven't seen all the Kadir Nelson book, but some & it's lovely. But I really love Of Thee I Sing, can't wait to get it a few years from now for my granddaughters. It's so special. You are wonderful to buy these for your class, Tara. I wonder if others realize how much teachers spend for their students?!

  2. Just saw snippets of Barak Obama on our news as he was inaugurated. He speaks well and that book to his daughters looks like one to I'd like to pursue. We non Americans admire Barak Obama!

Thank you for reading my blog! Please leave a comment and share your thoughts.

