Slice of Life Tuesday: Coffee tragedy

Slice of Life Tuesday is hosted by Stacey and Ruth at Two Writing Teachers 
This was one of those bleak February mornings when the day seemed to stretch endlessly before me – there were definitely more things to accomplish than energy with which to pursue them.   Somewhere during 2nd. period, right smack in the middle of launching our genre study in historical fiction, a vision appeared before me and brought about the day’s first smile:


As soon as the bell rang, I grabbed my coffee cup and headed downstairs to the cafeteria, blissful in the knowledge that a gorgeous cup of coffee would soon in in my very own hands, ready to sustain me for the next period and for rest of the morning.  
Apparently, others felt the same way I did, for the line was long.  No one in this group of happily chatting teachers seemed aware of the danger ahead – there were 11 of us and the cafeteria lady had just brewed a 10-cup pot…someone was going to be left out.  And, since I was last in line, that someone was going to be me!  This was all I could think about as I watched cups being cheerfully poured.  Then teacher #9 opted for tea at the last moment, Hooray! I was safe.  But, no…for the teacher ahead had pulled a nasty trick:
That was no ordinary coffee mug, that was a dastardly deed.  I watched, in horror, as he drained the rest of the coffee into this gigantic thermos.  Every. Last. Drop.  
 
It was a long walk back to my classroom…to the last dregs of a very flat Diet Coke left over from the day before. Sigh.
8 thoughts on “Slice of Life Tuesday: Coffee tragedy

  1. I once tried to convinced my old school to buy a Keurig. Crazy notion, I know. It didn't happen, so I drank plenty of Diet Peach Snapple throughout the day.Anyway, where can I get myself one of those New Yorker mugs?

  2. Darn! I keep looking at those fancy one cup makers that I could keep in my office, but they are kind of steep for my budget. I, do, however, bring in a carton of diet coke every week, so at least I don't have to drink flat ones. I agree with Lori- walk faster tomorrow.

Thank you for reading my blog! Please leave a comment and share your thoughts.

