Slice of Life March Challenge#3: A letter of gratitude

The March Slice of Life Challenge is hosted by Stacey and Ruth at Two Writing Teachers



Dear coffee pot:
Thank you for your efficiency – I know that once I grind my coffee beans of choice, hit the “program” button and set the tray in its “ready to serve” array, I can count on you to take care of the rest. 
Thank you for your reliability – I know that nothing (short of a power outage, that is) will get in the way of you beginning your day early (5:00 a.m.) so that I can begin my day (shortly thereafter) with a delicious cup of morning get-up-and-go.
Thank you for the way, because of you, I begin my morning with various alluring aromas (Fairway’s “Benny’s Blend”, Trader Joe’s “Bali Blue Moon”, Starbucks “Breakfast Blend”) that invite me to begin the day, no matter how reluctant I may be.
Thank you for your constancy – no matter what else the day will bring, I can count on you to provide a warm  and comforting beginning.   
Winter, summer, spring or fall – you are there to  lead me into each day….and I thank you, thank you, thank you!
Signed,
Your grateful programmer-in-chief

…and here’s what goes through my mind as I stumble downstairs for the delights of the above:


13 thoughts on “Slice of Life March Challenge#3: A letter of gratitude

  1. Love it, Tara. I remember the day last fall when my coffeepot stopped working. In the am, without my hot cuppa, not a good sight. I had to settle for Earl Grey which was okay, but that's something for my evenings. You've taken this to a higher level of gratitude-great stuff!

  2. Even though I don't drink coffee…I so enjoyed this post. Your writing brings your coffee maker to life…as it seems your coffee maker does for you each morning.

  3. So funny! Love the juxtaposition of your fancy, programmable, coffee grinding machine, with the cup and a half of flavor of Instant Maxwell House (ewww!) This would be a fun writing assignment to do with kids– write a letter to something you are grateful for. I'm thinking they would do stuff like Dear Hot Shower, Dear Toothbrush, Dear Deoderant,I bet that they would love it and come up with some really funny ones.

  4. Now my coffee pot is jealous! Now my coffee pot doesn't feel appreciated. Now my coffee pot demands a thorough vinegar and hot water spa scrub. I will do it, too. Anything to keep my morning magic elixir brewing.

  5. I'm just not a coffee drinker. One day my husband will convert me, but I just can't do it yet. I love the letter though! I'm sure there are few things around my house that I can thank!

  6. I really need to buy a coffee maker again. It broke before I tried to get pregnant. I vowed not to get another one 'til after we have a second child (which is not happening this year). However, I find myself buying coffee out now. Perhaps I should invest in one even if I won't use it for nine months (in the future). Hmmm…

Thank you for reading my blog! Please leave a comment and share your thoughts.

