Slice of Life March Challenge #6: Celebrating World Read Aloud Day

The March Slice of Life Challenge is hosted by Stacey and Ruth at Two Writing Teachers
 
Today is:
 
Full Image
 
We  have been following the build up of this event through LitWorld: Be The Story.  Where videos such as this have inspired us to think about the day as a world wide celebration of reading – far, far beyond our own classroom:
 

My sixth graders love being read aloud to – I don’t think you can ever be too old to enjoy being read to –   and I love the whole ritual, too: choosing the book, talking it up, gathering thoughts and ideas about what we may learn, and then the actual act of it.  I’ll admit, I practice voices and note dramatic pauses, I prepare.  It’s not as spontaneous as my kids think it is. 
We begin the year with two read alouds: Patricia Polacco’s Thank You, Mr. Falker and Paul Fleischman’s  Weslandia – two books that set the stage for the place I hope our room to be: a safe and nurturing place where we can learn a lot about a lot , where we can grow as learners and people.  We have read alouds all through the year – mentor texts, news articles, poetry, and novels every time we begin a new genre exploration. 
Right now, we in the midst of investigating historical fiction, and are reading The Boy in the Striped Pajamas.  It is intense – we are deep into the world of Bruno and Shmuel, growing theories about characters, plot lines and messages.  We are doing a lot of thinking work:

…but we are also just loving the story.

I can’t wait to visit classrooms around the blogosphere today to learn about how teachers and students around the world are celebrating this LitWorld message:

Literacy is a human right that belongs to all people….
Literacy is the foundation for emotional and physical well-being, intellectual growth, and economic security. The right to read and write is a fundamental human right and belongs to all people.

11 thoughts on “Slice of Life March Challenge #6: Celebrating World Read Aloud Day

  1. Wonderful to hear, Tara, & to see all that you do for your readaloud. The Boy In The Striped Pajamas is a wonderful book, & one to experience together. I just read it with a group recently. There are surprises for the students, aren't there? Parts of the book needed re-reading to double check where we thought it was going, yet it didn't happen.

  2. Yay, World Read Aloud Day! I think you're right — people of any age enjoy hearing a story. Our family loves to listen to audio books in the car. I just started Maus I by Art Spiegelman last night. Have you read it?

  3. Reading aloud to students is one of my favorite activities. It makes me so sad to learn upper grades don't do it enough. It is thrilling to experience a book with the kids. Happy World Read Aloud Day!

  4. You have captured the joy and excitment available to all through a read aloud. When my first grade ship is about to sink, a read aloud can set us back on course. That shared experience joins a community of learners together.

  5. This is my first year to celebrate WRAD day with my students. I don't often get to read aloud to my 8th graders, but they love it. I'm glad we're celebrating all week because we are home today for snow.

  6. There's something so special about a read aloud. It really brings the class together. It's one of my favorite parts of being a teacher. And that video was awesome–so inspiring.

  7. The best part of the period is when we settle in for our read aloud. Unfortunately, I've let other things get in the way lately. Your post inspires me to get back in the routine. I'd like to learn more about WRAD and participate next year. Thanks for showing us the charts on the board. I love the glimpses we get of each other's classrooms. I couldn't help but notice the Chinese characters – are you also studying China right now?

  8. I love reading and having someone read to me. Your prep for reading to your students reminded me of a book I worked with when I first started teaching adult literacy, Mosaic of Thought. We couldn't adapt every bit of the book for working with adults, but so much of it was easily brought into the adult classroom and made such a huge difference in our teaching practice and in students' experience of the work we read. Thanks for reminding me!

Thank you for reading my blog! Please leave a comment and share your thoughts.

