Slice of Life March Challenge #9: It’s not a snow day…but we can imagine it is….

The March Slice of Life Challenge is hosted by Stacey and Ruth at Two Writing Teachers




7:50 a.m. Friday – Room 202
It is snowing. 25 restless students sit in disbelief – looking longingly out the window: how come today is not a snow day? Schools nearby have called a snow day…how come we’re here?  
We’re about to learn about Andrew Jackson, at least that’s what my lesson plan says.  Until I survey the scene before me. Until I hear a mournful voice: “I could be having so much fun, if only it were a snow day….”  A chorus of voices rise in agreement….if only we could be out there, instead of here!
“Alrighty then,” I hear myself saying, “take out your writer’s notebooks and write about what you could be doing, if it were a snow day.”
25 students immediately make for their notebooks and begin writing.  
Scribble, scribble, scratch, scribble, turn the page!
Scribble, scribble, scratch, scribble, turn the page!
Scribble, scribble, scratch, scribble, turn the page!
Scribble, scribble, scratch, scribble, turn the page!
Every once in a while they come up for air and gaze intently at the floor, the window, the ceiling lights.  envisioning, imagining,searching for just the right words and details….and then it’s back to:
Scribble, scribble, scratch, scribble, turn the page!
Scribble, scribble, scratch, scribble, turn the page!
They are playing in the snow, building forts, sledding down neighborhood slopes, sipping on hot chocolate….they are laughing, playing, living in the moment….they are happy, oh so happy!
And, watching them, so am I…they are writing, happily writing…..

6 thoughts on “Slice of Life March Challenge #9: It’s not a snow day…but we can imagine it is….

  1. How painful to be trapped in a classroom when the world is a winter wonderland. How smart you were to take them out into that wonderland through their fingers.

  2. What a perfectly teachable moment! Those children got to experience writing at its finest that Friday morning! Kudos to you for your flexibility and sensitivity to letting kids be kids!!

  3. I tired posting this comment last night and after a few words I got stuck, frozen so it's a new day and I'm on my computer instead of my ipad. I won't give up! Should you have had school? No matter, you did it! You focused them with pens and paper. 3 Cheers, my friend.

Thank you for reading my blog! Please leave a comment and share your thoughts.

