Slice of Life March Challenge #18 – signing up for another writing challenge!

The March Slice of Life Challenge is hosted by Stacey and Ruth at Two Writing Teachers

I first read about The Memoir Project through a post on a blog I love girlgriot.  So I looked it up and discovered what it was all about:

Memoir Project

More than the facts and dates of a history, a memoir attempts to glean an understanding and share a moment of truth from a personโ€™s life. A memoir is deeply personal and often candidly transparent, attempting to shed light on the individual humanity that makes us unique, yet universally bound by a history of storytelling.
We are pleased to announce The Memoir Project, our first handwritten collection of true stories from individuals around the world. 500 participants are asked to sit down and reflect on their own lives. Take pause and hand write a story that defines you. Your memoir can be the story of your whole existence or a specific point in your life. This collection will travel in our Mobile Library and eventually be installed in our permanent collection at The Brooklyn Art Library, preserving a common human history through the eyes of those that lived it.
“What a wonderful opportunity to write!” I thought…but, being in the midst of the writing marathon that is the TWT’s Slice of Life March Challenge, I thought I’d better check out the fine print before committing myself. So, I did:
  • Your memoir should be hand written. We know its hard, but your story is worth the extra time and effort.
  • Your memoir should be a true story or account from your life.
  • please do not use glitter or glue on objects that may come loose or damage another submission
  • Your book must not exceed the dimensions of 5″ wide x 7″ tall x 1″ thick. It can open to any size, but it must remain 5″ x 7″ x1″ when closed.
  • You’re welcome to cut, rebind or alter the book in any other way – just remember to keep it less than 1″ thick.
  • Unfortunately we can not digitize pop up books, fold out books or books that exceed the required size limits.
  • All books are catalogued in our permanent collections. Books are not for sale and will not be returned.


I clicked out of the website and thought about the project for a while.  There are so many moments of truth in my life that I’ve sketched out, written bits and pieces about, and simply thought about over and over again.  In my lifespan as a daughter, mother, wife, friend, teacher, and wanderer, these moments of truth defined who I was…inspired who I chose to be…or marked me for what I became.  But, to search among those, to choose among those, that was a big task – an important task…perhaps a task that I feel, at last, ready for?
Even as I was mulling all this over, my friend Bonnie had taken the plunge – in her inimitable way, she had signed up for the challenge and announced it on her Facebook page.  That did it, for me…I decided to give it a try myself.  Before I could talk myself out of anything, I signed up, too.
And, in yesterday’s mail, my own sketchbook arrived, as promised:
I have until June 1st. – just enough time? not enough time? too much time? We’ll see…. here are the rewards promised:
  • The Opportunity to possibly read your memoir at one of the exhibitions.
  • Entry into the permanent collection of the Brooklyn Art Library
  • An E-Hug

.…now, to get started!


16 thoughts on “Slice of Life March Challenge #18 – signing up for another writing challenge!

  1. Oh, how intriguing! Best of luck to you. I may check it out, too. But I'm not sure that I'm quite ready for a challenge like that. I think if you get to the point that you actually sign up, you ARE ready. You must remember to make a copy for yourself though! Are you allowed to do that? Can you publish it, too?

  2. ๐Ÿ™‚ I just got mine too. I'm freaked though. There's just a few pages. Yikes! I would be better with more. Now I have to be more precise. Can't wait to share my experiences with you.Bonnie

  3. 500 words is not much more than a typed page! I read about it from Bonnie, too Tara. You are very persuasive, but the pull of NYC is not as strong for me. I hope that you'll get to share some of what you write here on TWT later in the year. It sounds like a wonderful project.

  4. I just read about this on Bonnie's blog. This is so exciting! I went to sign up and saw it was closed. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I would've loved to participate with the three of you (i.e., you, Bonnie, & Stacie)."This project is now full, but there are plenty of other ways to get inspired! Take a look at our other projects and join us today."

  5. How perfect is that! You can finish this writing challenge and move write on to another one, although I would miss the feedback at this point! I bet you'll write a wonderful memoir. I hope you keep us up to date on how you are doing with your next challenge.

  6. Tara, what an exciting way to continue to challenge yourself. I'll be interest in hearing more about your project as your work on it. The handwritten requirement is an interesting one. I'm planning a post soon on handwriting.

Thank you for reading my blog! Please leave a comment and share your thoughts.

