Slice of Life March Challenge #20: What does it take to get our book clubs going?

The March Slice of Life Challenge is hosted by Stacey and Ruth at Two Writing Teachers
 Wednesday is: Book Club Day….all it takes is:

A chart to anchor and guide our thinking:

Enough Rice Krispies treats to motivate and nourish sixth graders while they meet to share and discuss:
  

All our Reading Journals with notes and ideas to keep the conversation going:

And our folders with background information to ground our thinking:

That’s it…let the discussions begin! 

12 thoughts on “Slice of Life March Challenge #20: What does it take to get our book clubs going?

  1. Wow, Tara, you have your students doing great work in your workshop! I love the anchor chart and the entries that they have going in their notebooks. HF is one of my favorite genres and it's so good to see kids learning and being excited about history. Thank you for sharing and also for inspiring curiosity in your students.

  2. It takes a well prepared teacher to get the book clubs going and continue running. I love the photo essay of this post. Of course those Rice Krispie treats are winners in my book. (I guess no snow day for you.)

  3. When they write their thoughts, I think it slows them down & they are more thoughtful. Looks as if you have everything so ready, including the rice krispie treats-YUM! You are the organized one for sure, Tara. Great to see!

  4. Wow…this took a lot of organizing! I liked your short description and then a picture…it led me right through the activity….and of course, the Rice Krispie treats are a great motivator (but I think your students would be working well even without the treats…but oh such a nice addition. Jackie http://familytrove.blogspot.com/

  5. I think your students look forward to Wednesday–I would. A goal, a good book, food, sitting on the floor, and then sharing. It's what I choose to do in my retirement, too.

  6. Wow! a great photo essay of a terrific learning time in your classroom! I love, love, love the way you have set this up for your students and can't wait to share it with my teachers. I love, too, that food is a part of the discussion! Perfect! Thanks so much!

  7. Thanks for sharing the anchor charts and the pictures. I love all the great ideas I get for my own classroom from this community. It's my favorite PLC. This looks so fun! Did all of your students do historical fiction? Do you meet while they are reading the books or just at the end? Food always adds a special touch – I shared orange slices today during writer's workshop, most inexpensive treat ever. Some of my students had never had an orange slice before!

Thank you for reading my blog! Please leave a comment and share your thoughts.

