Slice of Life March Challenge #35: My before the first bell morning – a photoessay

The March Slice of Life Challenge is hosted by Stacey and Ruth at Two Writing Teachers
 
Monday Morning – before school begins routine (6:45 – 7:25):
 
1. Unpack and sort through 50 notebooks and 50 writing folders – my weekend homework
 
 
2. Unwrap, prepare, and arrange flowers:

 
3. Water plants –  all 12 of them:

 
4.  Tidy up our reading area:
 
5. Post the homework:

 
6. Set up the bulletin board for Book Clubs:
 
 
 

 …..just in time for the first bell…and my first (still sleepy) sixth graders….

 
13 thoughts on “Slice of Life March Challenge #35: My before the first bell morning – a photoessay

  1. I am sure your students feel as welcomed as I did by seeing your classroom. How wonderful that you start the week with fresh flowers! I trust it was a good teaching/ learning day!

  2. The routine of it all sets the tone for the day and the week. Your school is an early starter! Twelve plants? I'm impressed, I have a difficult time keeping one alive.

  3. I was anxious to read when I saw the word photo essay. It did not disappoint! I especially enjoyed the flowers and the twelve plants. My friend who retired at the end of the last school year had lots of plants in her room. I miss seeing the green when I walk by the room.

  4. I love your classroom, Tara. It's such a happy place. And I always thought that was such a great idea that you brought in flowers every week for your classroom! 🙂

  5. If only everyone (except teachers) knew how much work was implied in these few pictures, Tara. I loved seeing your room & your routine in the am. Do you get flowers each week for the room? Wonderful to see! Hope it's a good week!

  6. I love looking around at your classroom. The flowers and the plants may seem to go unnoticed by many of your students, but I think that children appreciate the beauty around them. I also love and admire all of your charts. Thanks for sharing.

Thank you for reading my blog! Please leave a comment and share your thoughts.

