Poetry Friday: Marie Howe: The Moment

Poetry Friday is hosted by Lisa @ Steps and Staircases
Columbia Teachers College
Columbia University:  Teachers College

What a whirlwind of motion the past two weeks have been – waking up before 5 a.m. to commute into Manhattan (two train rides and two subway rides each way) to take part in the Writing Institute (last week) and the Reading Institute (this week) at the Teacher’s College Reading and Writing Project. Tomorrow is the last day, and it will be bittersweet: I’ve loved the lovely walk up Broadway to the brownstone elegance of TC, I’ve even enjoyed racing up and down the floorboards and stairways and labyrinthine corridors of this venerable building, and I’ve taken pleasure in being in the old classrooms and lecture halls – folding myself into student seating and reverting into my note-taking-hand raising- student persona of days long past.  I’ve filled my notebook with new teaching ideas, and opened my imagination to new avenues of inquiry when I return to the class room, MY classroom, in two weeks – ready to start the school year.  
But, I am also ready for these whirlwind days to come to an end.  I am looking forward to a slower pace, and time to be still and reflect upon the days just past…and the school year just ready to begin.

photography.nationalgeographic.com

The Moment

 
by Marie Howe

Oh, the coming-out-of-nowhere moment

when,   nothing

happens

no what-have-I-to-do-today-list


maybe   half a moment

the rush of traffic stops.

The whir of I should be, I should be, I should be

slows to silence,

the white cotton curtains hanging still.
10 thoughts on “Poetry Friday: Marie Howe: The Moment

  1. Tara-so glad you've been to TC to share with us, but you must need those still moments before the rush of school. We begin next week but I've already been in & out. The poem says it all doesn't it? And the photo you found-beautiful. Thank you!

  2. Beautiful poem, Tara. I also love Howe's poem (similar theme?) where she realizes she's been telling her daughter to Hurry, Hurry. I'm envious that you get to be in my favorite city this week!

Thank you for reading my blog! Please leave a comment and share your thoughts.

