Slice of Life Tuesday: Malala Yousafzai makes my day.


The Tuesday Slice of Life Writing Community @ Two Writing Teachers

Last Friday, one of my personal heroes, 16 year old Malala Yousafzai  visited the White House.  I just loved this photograph of Malala with the President Obama, Mrs. Obama and their daughter Malia .  I loved the way she sat, so poised and graceful,  so purposeful in everything she said and did.  And I also loved the way young Malia looked upon this courageous, young woman – she looked utterly captivated, and thrilled to be in the company of Malala.  
There is something so comforting about seeing a young person like Malala, especially a young person who has suffered and risen above tragedy, go out and about in this crazy world of ours, doing good things and lifting souls and spirits.  There is a simplicity about her, and yet she is also profoundly wise.   That Friday, as adults in our nation’s capital were busy making a mockery of our democracy, it was a lovely moment of grace to come upon this photograph, and know that there are good people trying to do good things in this very imperfect world of ours.   Thank you, Malala.

And here she is, having the same effect on (of all people!), Jon Stewart:

17 thoughts on “Slice of Life Tuesday: Malala Yousafzai makes my day.

  1. Tara, I saw the Jon Stewart clip but had not seen this photograph. I agree with you – my favorite part of this photograph is how Malia looks so attentive and pleased. Thanks for the great reminder that all is not lost in this crazy world!

  2. That photo of Malia's smile is how we all feel when we see this magical rise from tragedy. This young girls has already done great things with her life. It makes me smile, just like Malia!

  3. I wonder if she should have been awarded the Noble Peace Prize? Of course the organization fighting against chemical warfare was deserving but given the times and the power of an amazing female role model, I was disappointed. You?

  4. She is such a beautiful hero, for girls, for everyone. I also love this picture. The smile on Malia's face is nothing if not adoring. Malala's peaceful message comes at the right time. Makes me think that Anne Frank and Sadako are in her soul.

  5. Thank you for sharing this, Tara. She is such an important image for all our own young women in the US, as well as all over the world. I know there are other young teens who wait, and wait more because they cannot see that they could make a difference anywhere. I hope they'll see Malala and learn that every age can speak out! And, I also enjoyed hearing you talk about her.

  6. I shudder each morning when I turn on the news. I was volunteering in the the White House during the last government shut down. Washington didn't feel this divided back then (at least not to me, an 18 year old who thought I could one day change it all). Now it just feels like we're at an impasse.Thanks for sharing the photo. I saw it over the weekend, but seeing it again makes me smile.

Thank you for reading my blog! Please leave a comment and share your thoughts.

