Poetry Friday: "This Morning I Could Do A Thousand Things"…or not…


Poetry Friday is hosted by Cathy @ Merely Day by Day

Tony Alter  (Day-lily with Doxies  Uploaded by theveravee) via Wikimedia Commons
We are a little more than a month into the school year, and it’s all busy, busy, busy: teaching days, parent meeting days, curriculum and professional development days, and so on.   Even though it’s technically Fall here in the North East, and we have all the glorious colors of autumn to prove it, today felt more like Spring.  And even though I had plenty to keep me happily busy from morning until night, today was a day when I  could have just as happily spent doing much of nothing…

This Morning I Could Do a Thousand Things 

BY ROBERT HEDIN

I could fix the leaky pipe
Under the sink, or wander over
And bother Jerry who’s lost
In the bog of his crankcase.
I could drive the half-mile down
To the local mall and browse
Through the bright stables
Of mowers, or maybe catch
The power-walkers puffing away
On their last laps. I could clean
The garage, weed the garden,
Or get out the shears and
Prune the rose bushes back.
(You can read the rest of the poem here.)



10 thoughts on “Poetry Friday: "This Morning I Could Do A Thousand Things"…or not…

  1. This poem is gorgeous and perfectly articulates slowing down. I loved, "Raining their immaculateBands of light…" Oh, how I could see those in the morning light. Lovely images.

  2. This reminds me of my time at the beach, dear Tara. I know what you mean about being caught up all the time with deadlines, with submissions, with all the white noise, that one fails to actually live. I love these lines from the poem:But I’ve decided to just lieHere in this old hammock,Rocking like a lazy metronome,And wait for the day liliesTo open.How beautiful.

  3. Definitely I could use some time "rocking like a lazy metronome", Tara. Ah, this busy life! I hope you don't mind if I share this out; I know a lot of people who will love seeing it about now!

Thank you for reading my blog! Please leave a comment and share your thoughts.

