Slice of Life Tuesday: The dream bike.


The Tuesday Slice of Life Writing Community @ Two Writing Teachers

If there is one thing I wish I’d learned to do as a kid, it would have been to  ride a  bicycle.  But,  I didn’t.  I did try to make up for this lost opportunity as an adult, three times…and wound up in the hospital and on crutches after each effort.  My family will no longer support me in any let’s-try-to-ride-a-bike adventures, and I have given up all hope of ever cruising down the street on two wheels.  I have always had the sneaking suspicion, though, that the reason I had such disastrous experiences was because I was riding the wrong type of bike.   With the right type of bicycle, though, I would have discovered the competenthighly co-ordinated inner biker in me.  I would have been awesome.  And, on Sunday, walking to my car after coffee with Bonnie, I saw the perfect bike:


It sat sunning itself on the sidewalk, coolly confident  and utterly perfect.  It had all the gears and gizmos to guarantee a smooth and steady ride, and yet it had an old fashioned bell and the best little contraption I’d ever seen to transport a favorite book to read, a writer’s notebook to jot down wonderful ideas and stories, and room for TWO Venti Skim Chais.  What more could one ask for in a bicycle?  On a bike like this, I could:
Pedal around town in style and comfort.
Feel the warmth of the Sunday sun and Fall breeze.
Set off on marvelous adventures around lakes, trails, and beaches.
Make a style statement.
Wave to astonished family members as I sail past – no need to worry, folks, I’ve got this covered…and how!
With a bike like this…
10 thoughts on “Slice of Life Tuesday: The dream bike.

  1. This is my dream for spring, to buy myself a new bike, Tara. Now I wish you did live close so we could ride in our stylin' new bicycles. I wish you well, also, that you find a dream teacher to get you up & riding! (It's a great-looking bike!)

  2. The woulda, coulda, shouldas will get you every time. šŸ™‚ That is one sweet bike! How I wish we were closer, I'd help you be that biker that is waiting to be released. I loved the way you wrote this!

  3. Oooh, Tara, I love this slice!! That IS the perfect bike!! I fully support your next adventure, I do! I love your word choice: it sat sunning itself on the sidewalk. I love your ending! And I love that you incorporated a list into your slice, too!!

  4. I learned how to buy a bike as a kid, but nearly got hit by a car and stopped riding. I always joke that my perfect bike would be a tricycle since I wouldn't have to worry about balancing. Good luck obtaining your perfect bike. It looks pretty!

  5. Tara, I used to be the traffic cop as my friends rode away on their bikes. I have tried to learn several times as an adult. I think both of us should go visit Elsie for lessons! My favorite line – "Wave to astonished family members as I sail past – no need to worry, folks, I've got this covered…and how!"

Thank you for reading my blog! Please leave a comment and share your thoughts.

