Poetry Friday: "Confessions of a Recycled Shopping Bag" by John Yau

Poetry Friday is hosted by Diane Mayr at Random Noodling
One of the bags I use to carry home my work looks like this:
Which led me to this poem:

Confessions of a Recycled Shopping Bag

I used to be a plastic bottle

I used to be scads of masticated wattle

I used to be epic spittle, aka septic piddle

I used to be a pleasant colleague

I used to be a radiant ingredient

I used to be a purple polyethylene pony

I used to be a phony upload project
(you can read the rest here.)
…which led me to this: 
To raise awareness of the alarming problem of plastic waste, Jasmine Zimmerman created the Bottle House – an open-roofed greenhouse made from hundreds of recycled plastic bottles.  Read more:
…and then this:
Ugandan artist and teacher Ruganzu “Bruno” Tusingwire has created an amazing recycled amusement park for Ugandan children that is made from thousands of repurposed plastic bottles.     Read more: Artist Ruganzu Tusingwire Transforms Thousands of Plastic Bottles Into a Recycled Amusement Park for Ugandan Kids.
We live in an amazing world. 
8 thoughts on “Poetry Friday: "Confessions of a Recycled Shopping Bag" by John Yau

  1. I still see many people hauling out cases of water, & we live in the land of water bottles! Wonderful poem that directs us to think! Thanks for the links too, Tara. I love that amusement park-artists are terrific!

  2. My last comment didn't quite make sense, so I'm trying again! Your choice of poems today is marvelous–these lines tickle my fancy: I used to be scads of masticated wattleI used to be epic spittle, aka septic piddle

  3. A fun post which makes us think – Thanks, Tara! I liked the same lines Diane and Tabatha did. I'm a little jolted by the "pleasant colleague" but so intrigued…. Thanks for sharing the other pix/links, too.

  4. The thing that cracks me up about human consumption of plastic is the proliferation of plastic cups that are meant to replace the plastic bottles. They seem to exist on an almost 1:1 ratio…completely defeating the point! Sigh. Humans. What are you gonna do about them? Write a poem, I guess!

Thank you for reading my blog! Please leave a comment and share your thoughts.

