Celebration Saturday: … Thanksgiving celebrations

Discover. Play. Build.

Celebrate with Ruth Ayres @ ruth ayres writes  …. because, we need to celebrate moments in our lives every chance we get!

This Thanksgiving week, I celebrate the act of coming together at our table, being with family, and breaking bread together.
Our lives are just so busy now, and with our children all out of the house and living lives of their own in apartments and dormitories, our table and kitchen are often quiet and still.  Meals are often after thoughts – planned on the way home from school, thrown together quickly (choose two things from the pantry and two things from the fridge and there you go: dinner!).
But on Wednesday our kitchen came alive with the sounds of my children again – the baking, the jostling, the laughter, and the music were back.  We chopped and mixed and argued about which candlesticks and vases to use.  We traded stories, danced to silly music, and teased each other about old habits and new mannerisms.  
We celebrated being together again, and we celebrated how much that meant. We celebrated  family – and gave thanks. 

12 thoughts on “Celebration Saturday: … Thanksgiving celebrations

  1. Oh, Tara. This post made me miss my kids πŸ™‚ " Wednesday our kitchen came alive again…." I knew immediately what you meant and what it sounded like. I think it's one of the things I miss the most with no kids in the house….

  2. We are getting closer and closer to that quiet table. Thankfully, for now, it is only sporadic because they are both still here. But I know that day is coming. Thank you for sharing your celebration.

  3. It is a pleasure to cook with others, especially the kids. I'm so glad you had such a happy, happy day, Tara! Love that "two things from the pantry, two things from the frig" however! It works!

  4. I'm in a similar place in my life. And I have loved, loved, loved having my boys home this weekend. Trying not to think about the fact that they are leaving again in less than 24 hours!

  5. This was my first Thanksgiving without my daughter. It was a good thing that there were small children and visitors at our Thanksgiving table to keep me from missing her too much!

  6. It is special when the kids come home and everyone gathers around the kitchen. I am looking forward to that happening for Christmas this year. Wonderful celebration!

  7. It is so wonderful when they grace us with their presence and share their new ideas, new recipes and new ways of looking at the kitchen. From my kids, I have found couscous, hummus and gourmet tea's greatness! From me, they are assured of a bag of leftovers to take to their "homes" so that the holiday can linger there too. I guess "adult" children are the reward for sleepless nights!

Thank you for reading my blog! Please leave a comment and share your thoughts.

