Clelebration Saturday: Sharing our Thanksgiving stories

Discover. Play. Build.

Celebrate with Ruth Ayres @ ruth ayres writes  …. because, we need to celebrate moments in our lives every chance we get!

This week, I am celebrating the writers in my classroom, who rise to every challenge with enthusiasm and good will.  I had asked my kids to “listen as writers” at the Thanksgiving table. What family stories and traditions did they learn about? Which relative or family friend did they discover anew?  What conversations drew them in or piqued their curiosity? These were some of the ideas we tossed around during our minilesson.  Take your writer’s notebooks home, I said, see what you can capture.
My sixth graders packed their notebooks into their backpacks with just the tiniest bit of reluctance before leaving for Thanksgiving break. Homework? Over break? That’s just wrong! I heard one student mutter.
By Friday, however, the tone had changed.  Are we going to share our stories this week? they wondered on Monday.  Will we get to have our writing celebration on Friday? they asked on Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday.
YES! I answered, each time.
And, on Friday, we kept our promises to each other. Bonnie  Kaplan was there to document our writing adventure and ask her insightful questions.  I provided the treats:

and they provided the writing. We were happily ready for our Thanksgiving Stories Celebration: 

                         (All photographs were taken my my good friend and colleague, Bonnie Kaplan)

And what a celebration it was!  We heard stories that were funny, some that were touching,  many that were filled with evocative details that brought back snippets of conversation and important shifts in mood and feeling.  My students sat up proud when their turns came, and read with confidence and expression.  Best of all, they listened to each other attentively, appreciatively.  It was a lovely time.
And so, this celebration Saturday, I celebrate my kids…and how far each of them has traveled this year as writers.

10 thoughts on “Clelebration Saturday: Sharing our Thanksgiving stories

  1. And now that you've started this 'new' tradition, I bet they'll listen at every dinner for those stories, Tara. What a lovely idea, and super that you also celebrated the writing they brought back, too! Love it!

  2. We are finishing a six week unit "Family Stories" in my class (grade 3). It has been wonderful listening to all the different stories the kids have shared. They all chose one to create a digital story. I didn't bring any treats, but your post makes me think about possibilities for next year.

  3. What a wonderful idea. I find myself listening in on conversations and gathering stories, but I had not considered asking my students to do so. I'm tucking this one in the back of my mind for the future.

Thank you for reading my blog! Please leave a comment and share your thoughts.

