Slice of Life Tuesday: Reunion with Rachel!

Slice of Life Challenge #25: Coming to terms with fibromyalgia

Slice of Life Tuesday is hosted by Two Writing Teachers

Endings have a way of inviting new beginnings.  I am not sure where I read this saying, or if it was just something that came to me as I was encouraging my young colleague Rachel to “go West, young lady!” But it sounded good, and I just kept repeating it in the weeks leading up to her departure for Denver.  It made me feel better, and it seemed to have the same effect on her, too.  After all, it’s not every day that you pack up as many of your belongings as can fit in one small car, bid your hometown and family goodbye, and then drive all the way from New Jersey to Denver.    And I kept repeating it as I walked her to her car on our last day of school: endings have a way of inviting new beginnings, Rachel, this will be a wonderful new beginning for you.  

As summer turned to Fall, we traded messages and phone calls about this new beginning.  Denver was awesome, everyone she met was so “chill and nice” (these are two words that don’t come to mind when one thinks of New Jersey-ites!),  her apartment was lovely, her colleagues were supportive and encouraging.  Yes, teaching in an inner city school was challenging and often frustrating, but she was enjoying this new beginning. She was beginning to discover herself.

And, who wouldn’t, with vistas like this on your every day commute to work (good riddance Garden State Parkway!):

IMG_2637

 

And new companions like this adorable one:

IMG_7944

 

On New Year’s Eve, Rachel and I were able to make some time in our busy holiday schedules to get together in person at one of our favorite haunts:

sook social mediasook

 

We weren’t able to sit outside to enjoy our baked treats, as we had in days long past, but nothing else had changed. Well, actually, Rachel had changed.  Where she had once been full of self-doubt and uncertainties, now she was confident and more secure.  Where she had once seemed afraid and cautious, now she seemed ready to meet new challenges, to stretch and grow personally and professionally.  Watching her and listening to her also brought back memories of what it had been like to be young and free  –  to pack up and start life somewhere brand new just because. When the process of self discovery  lay at the heart of every decision, and practicalities an afterthought.  It was wonderful to see this lovely young person so enjoying her new life.

Rachel’s  New Jersey “ending” had certainly led to a wonderful series of new beginnings in Denver. Bravo, my  friend!

photo (61)

 

18 thoughts on “Slice of Life Tuesday: Reunion with Rachel!

  1. “Endings have a way of inviting new beginnings” – It’s great that this mantra became true. It’s good that you still are able to meet when you make time for it. Fro your slice and pics I can tell that you clearly had a lovely meeting together.

  2. Your post is the essence of letting go because you care enough to do so! You encouraged her to stretch her wings and grow. I guess endings do lead to beginnings, but beginning a new adventure and taking some risks can lead growing in confidence. A wonderful slice today!

  3. So glad you two were able to meet up and reconnect. What a day-to-day loss! Sounds like she is flourishing now in her new environment. Brave, on her part to make such a change. I don’t know that I could do that.
    BTW, I just posted my slice at Betsy’s call for March support. Was that right?
    Stay warm today,
    Bonnie

  4. “Endings really do have a way of inviting new beginnings” Such wisdom here. Thank you.
    Also pretty sure that Rachel is driving by a park close to my house and probably teaching in the same inner city district I teach in. Please tell her she can call or email me if she needs anything.

  5. I’m sure Rachel feels grateful to you for the wind you have set upon her wings. Looks like a lovely relationship. Thanks for sharing.

  6. One of the things I love most about our profession is the mentorship of women. I have learned some of my best life lessons from the women I work with –she is very lucky to have you in her life. I love the idea of endings inviting beginnings…
    Thank you
    Clare

  7. So happy that Denver is being good to her, Tara, and that you were able to see each other over break. She had a wonderful mentor, you, and now this new beginning will help her to pass it on. If ever she needs anything…

  8. I know you were so sad to lose Rachel as a teaching partner, but what an encourager you were to her. She is so brave to pack it up and set out on an adventure. What a fabulous view she has on her commute! It will be interesting to discover what else is in store for this adventurer.

  9. Loved reading about re-connecting with Rachel! I also love this community when you read the comments and find out that there might be a new connection for Rachel with someone who comments on your blog! Amazingly wonderful!

  10. I’m so envious of your friend, Tara. I always wanted to do that, but I never had the nerve. Bravo to her, I wish her well! Also, you’re such a dear friend to have – I can tell just by this lovely Slice. Lucky Rachel. 🙂

  11. What a wonderful reunion. You obviously made a huge impact on her life and you should be proud of that mentorship. Young people today need those in their lives. Lovely story!

  12. I love the beginning of your post…Endings have a way of inviting new beginnings. I found myself smiling as I read through your blog. I’m so glad you were able to reconnect and have time together. Bravo to Rachel…it takes a lot of guts to pack up and move across the country like that. Thank you for sharing your story.

  13. Tara, What a wonderful observation about your friend and the positive changes this move has created for her and in her. Your encouragement for her is an essential part of a friendship and I enjoyed reading those phrases within your writing.

  14. I am really like that quote that you started off with. That’s great that you were able to keep in touch with her and even have a reunion with her. It’s always hard leaving home and going somewhere new, but I agree that it makes you stronger, learn a lot about yourself, and grow in ways you can never imagine. I can definitely relate to that! 😉

Thank you for reading my blog! Please leave a comment and share your thoughts.

