Celebrate this week @ #clebratelu : January 18, 2014

15c4c-celebrate-image

Celebrate with Ruth Ayres @ ruth ayres writes  …. because, we need to celebrate moments in our lives every chance we get!

I love Saturday mornings, even blustery and snowy ones, because it gives me a sliver of free time to pause (my OLW!) and reflect upon the week’s events. ..here is my chance to celebrate the highlights, such as:

1.

My daughter Olivia’s a Capella group was invited to audition for America’s Got Talent!  A talent agent spotted their You Tube video, and boom! invitation to audition. So, today I celebrate this trio of hard working musicians, and all the hours of practice and planning they put into this thing they love: music. (She’s the one on the left)

2.

My kiddos at school.  We finished our nonfiction partner reads this week (blog post to follow), and they worked so hard to make the most of this learning experience.  There were so many moments this week when I just had to pause in my conferring rounds to sit back and just take in the work that was going on – great conversations, careful notations, all the thinking work that goes into reading non fiction.  There were many steps to the process I was trying to teach them, the habits of non fiction reading, and they went along with enthusiasm and patience.  So, I celebrate the readers in my room:

nonfic1nonfic2nonfiction

3.

My friend Sue Clary, whose constantly updated Facebook page  nourishes my soul with photographs like this  (that’s a Harry Orlyk landscape – he’s a brilliant landscape artist):

Mccartees

and this:

windowsI love checking in from time to time my hectic days, and Sue’s photographs always give me something to smile about, imagine, and take joy in.

4.

Diane R.

Seeing Diane Ravitch at the Fox Lane School in Bedford, N.Y. with my good friend Bonnie Kaplan.  Diane gave a wonderful speech, cautionary, insightful, and uplifting.  I felt lucky to be there among so many deicated teachers who had come from far and wide, many with Ravitch’s new book, Reign of Error, ready to be autographed.

Now, to visit and enjoy other celebrations!

16 thoughts on “Celebrate this week @ #clebratelu : January 18, 2014

  1. Much to celebrate here, Tara, especially that about Olivia & her group. They must be so, so excited. I loved seeing the video! And love seeing the pics of your class-fun to imagine the active minds there! Have a good weekend full of other things!

  2. Oh Tara, you will have to keep us posted about your daughter. I LOVE that song!! Beautiful and I love how they arranged it. So many great celebrations. My school is moving into their nonfiction unit (we adopted the Lucy Calkins Writing program) and to se Dian Ravitch, how fabulous!

  3. Congratulations Tara! Invited to audition?? That is definitely rewarding. Getting to hear Diane Ravitch, great addition to your week!

  4. Wow, chills from that song. Just beautiful. Love the pictures of your students with the nonfiction reading. I look forward to the blogpost which talks more about what they were doing.

  5. Olivia’s group sings so, so, so beautifully! I don’t watch America’s Got Talent either, but I definitely would if they were on it! About a month ago, I was watching another show that had acapella groups in a contest, and this group is easily as good as any of those. I wish I could remember the name of that show! Definitely keep us posted.

  6. Tara, I love a cappella music. Please keep us posted so those or us who don’t watch America’s Got Talent can join in. Also, let us know when they release a CD! Their love for music shines in every note! I can’t wait for the blog post on nonfiction partner reads. And spending time with Bonnie – you’ve had quite a week!

  7. Beautiful singing. Like dancing, singing too is not something that just happens, but a lot of practice, and being noticed is not mere luck but a result of dedicated thoughtful work. I am glad that both of us were able to cheer for our daughters today.
    I like how your post was filled with pics.

  8. Oh my goodness – no wonder your daughter’s group got invited to audition! What an awesome video! You’ll have to keep us posted on whether or not they’re chosen! I’m looking forward to your nonfiction post because I want to do an upcoming unit using Scientists in the Field books – I see a few in your picture! I’d love to hear your ideas on how to use them.

Thank you for reading my blog! Please leave a comment and share your thoughts.

