Slice of Life Tuesday: Morning walk on a “snow day.”

ar126635169255953

Walking the dog on a snowy morning.

Our’s are the first tracks in the fast-falling snow…paw prints crisscrossed by Bean boots.

The boughs of every tree, from spindly saplings to mighty oaks, are graced with shawls of white – iridescent white, sparkling in the wintry light.

Windows are dark as we wend our way through our familiar morning walk, made unfamiliar by the stillness and quiet.  No one is stirring.  No one is up and preparing for the day.  And the children are still blissfully asleep.

A snow day has brought a respite from the weekday hustle and bustle.

My dog’s coal black fur is now covered with a shimmering cape of white.  She shakes herself free, and dives into knee-high banks of fluffy snow.  Heaven!  Even the dog is in snow heaven.

I trudge back home, wind-driven snow in my face.  A pine bough gently surrenders its first layer of white, which whooshes down softly, catching a bit of the wind and morning light.  It will snow all day, they say, all day.

And we are grateful.

379 (1)

23 thoughts on “Slice of Life Tuesday: Morning walk on a “snow day.”

  1. What a great opportunity for you to wax poetic, inspired by family dog 🙂
    My dog’s coal black fur is now covered with a shimmering cape of white. She shakes herself free, and dives into knee-high banks of fluffy snow. Heaven! Even the dog is in snow heaven.

  2. Perfect descriptions of the stillness and beauty of the snow. Loved the shawls of white. I must confess I’m a bit tired of all the snow in my world. However I do like to see pictures from other places.

  3. A beautiful post – the peace and beauty of snow — when we have the time to appreciate is incredible. My puppy loves the snow — I am new to walking a dog in the snow, but I am loving it. Thanks for sharing.
    Clare and Tammy

  4. Tara, you did such a beautiful job with your words describing your early morning walk. You made your vista so inviting and this is high praise because I am very weary from all the New Jersey snow storms.
    Bernadette

  5. I feel the stillness in your writing. And the whoosh of cold. I’m imagining the warmth and quiet of your house as the snow falls all day. I have a bit of winter envy here in winterless west coast world.

  6. Your beautiful imagery makes me feel bad when I say I am so over winter! I agree with Dana – picture book material! Reminds me a little of Jane Yolen – beautiful description.

  7. Oooh, I love these lines: spindly saplings to mighty oaks, are graced with shawls of white – iridescent white, sparkling in the wintry light.
    A pine bough gently surrenders its first layer of white, which whooshes down softly

  8. Your images are amazing in this piece. Trudging through the shawls of white….lovely images. I hear that SOME of us may get another one tomorrow! I guess SOME Of us will be in school i in April when the blossoms bloom too!

  9. I read and re-read this, trying to pick my favorite line and couldn’t choose. I definitely had the visual and went someplace calm in my brain with “paw prints crisscrossed by Bean boots”, and then I just stayed there. Ice crystals are hitting my windows as I type, so maybe I’ll get to have this experience tomorrow. Wait, I don’t have a dog. Guess I’ll revisit your writing instead.

  10. I love the description of your day and can see your fresh footprints creating your own path. I am anticipating the same start to my day tomorrow and hope I can see some of the same things and enjoy the beauty of nature.

  11. Tara, thanks for sharing the lovely images with us. My favorite lines: “The boughs of every tree, from spindly saplings to mighty oaks, are graced with shawls of white – iridescent white, sparkling in the wintry light.” It’s a luscious feast of words!

  12. We had an unusual amount of snow overnight in Portland, OR. We are never prepared for this and everything shuts down. Walking my dogs this morning was a challenge. My 7 year old wanted to romp, frolic and discover treasures under the snow. My 13 year old plodded behind. She seemed to be concentrating on keeping her footing. The next walk might be shorter.

Thank you for reading my blog! Please leave a comment and share your thoughts.

