Slice of Life March Challenge: March 6th., 2014 – Three deer, a sunrise, my OLW

orange sol

twt

 The March Slice of Life Challenge is hosted by Two Writing Teachers  

Make copies of the Trail of Tears map.

Meet with D. for her early morning extra help session.

Organize field trip permission forms.

Finish reviewing writing folders – also, make copies of conference forms.

Tea. Did I remember to pack the green tea I bought?

These thoughts are rattling around in my head, in no particular order, but insistent and loud, as I drive to school this morning.  It’s not even 7 o’clock, the day has barely begun.  How is it possible to be this “behind” on the day’s business already?

In the distance, I see that the traffic light up ahead is still green, but the pedestrian signal has begun blinking.  If I step on it I might just make the light before it turns yellow.   Just as I am about to step on the gas pedal, three shadowy figures emerge from the snow banked yard on my left and make their way across the road – stately deer, begin to lope gracefully across the street.  I come to a halt and wait.  And so do they.  Almost in unison, they turn to face the rising sun, to pause to take in the sight. And so do I.

Slivers of crimson fade into fuchsia   and then pale pink.  The silvery winter sun seems in no hurry to begin its progress over the horizon, and it casts a gentle glow over the snow laden suburban  landscape.  Icicles sparkle from eaves of trees and roofs, and this frigid winter morning seems bathed in a gentle peace.  The deer turn their heads and leap across the snow bank to my right and disappear from sight.  They had paused to greet the morning, pay homage to its beauty, because…how could they not? How could one not?

Pause. My one little word.  Thank you, beautiful creatures, for reminding me to pause…to greet this morning as it should – a thing of wonder, to be enjoyed.

I am still thinking of a lovely sunrise as I get back to the business of the day.

26 thoughts on “Slice of Life March Challenge: March 6th., 2014 – Three deer, a sunrise, my OLW

  1. Such a beautiful and peaceful scene. This will stay with me as I start my day, “They had paused to greet the morning, to pay homage to its beauty, because…how could they not? How could one not?”. I often start my day in a whirr of things to do but not this day because of your words.

  2. This is beautiful! I’m amazed at how you were able to grab hold of my senses with your words. I felt like I was there with you, looking out of your car window, seeing what you saw. And then, how you transitioned into a beautiful reflection. I want to try that in my writing- I don’t usually have any kind of reflection….i leave it to the reader to figure out. I have learned so much from your writing today. Thank you.

  3. I needed your words this morning. The picture you created of traffic and your busy mind was similar to my drive and thoughts but so different. The pause. Perfect. In my world it was a pedestrian in a world of bustling traffic. For you deer leaping across snow. Beautiful.

  4. What a beautiful way to start the day and remind us of the beauty that is there to be seen if we just pause and look for it. Thank you for sharing.

  5. It gave me shivers, Tara. What an event to be reminded of you OLW by those beautiful deer. Hm-m-wonder what delights are next! Hope the day continued to be magical!

  6. A small moment. A special moment. A reminder to pause and appreciate. Tara your slice has much to recommend it. Simple pleasures often abound in our day. We must be ready to receive them. You have provided us with a timely reminder through your writing. Magic moments indeed.

  7. How absolutely perfect Tara. Deer remind you to pause for the right, the best reasons… What a way to begin the day and I hope it continued to bring you joy today.

  8. Your description made me feel like I was there in the car with you. No better way to start a busy morning. So glad you could pause and take it all in.

  9. I have to tell you that when I read your post, I slowed down my breathing, and paused while I read your beautiful words. Thanks for sharing this moment with us, for pausing, and savoring on your way to a busy day!

Thank you for reading my blog! Please leave a comment and share your thoughts.

