Slice of Life March Challenge: March 7th., 2014 – A visit from my son, Ben… short but sweet.

orange sol

twt

 The March Slice of Life Challenge is hosted by Two Writing Teachers .  

I got home from work yesterday later than expected, and more tired than ever.  Hauling my ever-on-hand book bags with their ever-present contents of writing folders, reading journals, and random papers to be corrected, I made my way slowly to the back door.  I envisioned my dog, Sophie, on the other side of that door – bursting with excitement about  her afternoon walk.  She’d be just as full of energy and I was depleted of it. Sigh.

Then the door was flung open, and  Sophie bounded out. Standing in the doorway was a wonderful sight  – my son Ben!  In my gloom and doom of end of the day weariness, I had forgotten that he would be home for a bit – just long enough to pick up  his car for a weekend trip to Washington DC to visit his girlfriend, the lovely Fiona.  I was enveloped in the standard issue Ben hug – warm, joyous, and enthusiastic.  My weariness vanished instantly.

Soon, we were in the kitchen and sharing news over cups of hot tea.   I relished the time spent listening to his stories of life in Brooklyn and his college, hearing his laugh ring through the house, watching Sophie sit contentedly at his feet.  It is a lucky break, really, that all three of our kids live close enough to stop by now and then.  Two of them will probably leave the area when they graduate from college, and our oldest’s work may well soon take her to other parts of the country…or some other country entirely.  So, I reveled in the moment and made the most of it.

Then, Ben picked up his hat…his trusty vintage Boy Scout hat…

photo

slung his backpack over his shoulder….

photo2

and drove off to Brooklyn.   It was short. It was sweet. It was wonderful.

“The most precious gift we can offer others is our presence. When mindfulness embraces those we love, they will bloom like flowers.” – Thich Nhat Hanh

 

21 thoughts on “Slice of Life March Challenge: March 7th., 2014 – A visit from my son, Ben… short but sweet.

  1. I embraced the post with content, Tara. I spent this afternoon into evening with my granddaughter who needed to stay home so I split the day with her dad, and then ate a quick dinner with them, just enjoying, like you with Ben. So happy for your ‘treat’!

  2. I am so happy to enjoy this Slice early, while it’s fresh. I posted my first early-morning slice just minutes ago. Nice to share this time with you again, friend. Love seeing Ben in his element now!

  3. I felt your weariness at the beginning, but how quickly the energy came back at the sight of your son. What a wonderful way to re-energize yourself for the evening.

  4. Oh I know about hugs. They can lift you out of any fatigue. You make me smile with tears in my eyes. Love, love, love hearing about your kids. It is a vicarious joy.

  5. How often many of us come home feeling weary and lugging work that needs to be done. Then something unexpected or forgotten greets us and suddenly our whole outlook changes.

  6. I swear we live parallel lives. 🙂 Your description of Ben’s hug made me think of my Zach’s hugs. Nothing better than hugs from your kids. I’m so glad you had this respite! Happy weekend.

  7. I read this piece yesterday – and wanted to comment – I too marvel and adore those short but sweet connections to grown kids….even those phone calls mean so much more than I could have ever imagined!

  8. Tara,
    What a delightful piece! You had me at the beginning nodding my head in agreement to the weariness of the day. I loved this line, “Hauling my ever-on-hand book bags with their ever-present contents of writing folders, reading journals, and random papers to be corrected, I made my way slowly to the back door.” Ever-on-hand and ever-present ring true in relation to work. I was feeling tired for you.

    Then the way your day turned around in a heartbeat at the sight of your son, Ben. It’s something I so understand. It’s always a pleasant surprise to be able to spend time with our kids when they stop by for a bit. This spoke volumes, “I was enveloped in the standard issue Ben hug – warm, joyous, and enthusiastic.”

    Thanks for making me smile,
    Cathy

Thank you for reading my blog! Please leave a comment and share your thoughts.

