Slice of Life March Challenge: March 10th., 2014 – Home from school…but still at school…

orange soltwt

The March Slice of Life Challenge is hosted by Two Writing Teachers .  

Home from school today.

Home from school today because winter has taken its toll, and my fibromyalgia is especially painful.

Home from school…

but still on school time.

Without having to glance at the clock, I know that the doors have opened and that kids are tramping up the staircase to the sixth grade hallway, ready to walk by our room and shout their hellos.

Now the lockers are crashing open, news of the weekend is being exchanged, laughter echoes all the way through the second floor – our floor.

 Now my kids will have collected by the door to 202.  Where is she? Why are the lights still off, the door still locked?  She’s always here before us?

First bell.  The substitute should be making her way to our classroom –  and my kids are sizing her up.  Who is she? What kind of day will we have?

First period. The sub will be taking attendance and going through the plans I’ve emailed.   Have I left my desk fairly clean? Did I remember to stash away those IEP folders I’d been examining on Friday afternoon?

Then my thoughts turn to my kids: Will D. have her independent reading book? Will J. have a “good day” – Monday’s are  difficult for him?  Will D. be allowed to keep his bag in the room? Did I remember to add a note to my plans that my kids are allowed to have a snack during period 3? They get really hungry then, and lunch will still be two periods away.  Will S. have his project materials ready as he promised he would?  Will A. remember to wear his glasses?

I am home from school …

…but I am still at school.

26 thoughts on “Slice of Life March Challenge: March 10th., 2014 – Home from school…but still at school…

  1. Isn’t it amazing that when we are home from school due to sickness or a personal day our minds still think about what is happening in our room. I know I would sometimes hear students in the hallway saying, “Yes, so-and-so is not here” or “Aw, so-and-so is not here.” I often wonder what they said when O wasn’t there.

  2. Just can’t get away. You are such a thoughtful teacher, Tara! I am touched by this, your sharing of how teachers are, always there even if not physically. So true!

  3. I hope you’re feeling better soon!! I totally get what you mean, “school time”!! I wonder what’s happening and if my kids are okay whether I’m there or not. I bet they missed you a lot, but they seem to survive without us. Take care!!

  4. I am sorry to hear about your fibromyalgia:( I know what it’s like to be away from school and at school. Even when we don’t feel well we still think about our kids. This post and your previous ones reveal how much you love and care about what you do.

  5. Tara you really captured this pull that we teachers have. Our class and classroom just get into our blood an stay there. I hope you’re feeling better!

  6. It is wisdom to know when to stay at home even though our minds follow school time. When you go back, your students will be so excited to see you! Hope that you are feeling better!

  7. All those little things you do to make so many to do what they need to do! The worries about the glasses, the IEP files, the bad days, the snack! So much you do without planning or thinking, you just do. I’m sure they survived, but clearly it’s wasn’t the same. Hope you’re feeling better soon!

  8. Hope tomorrow you get to be back. I can relate to so much of what you wrote. I love how you create a rhythm (almost poetry) kind of writing. I also like your technique with the questions.

  9. I hope that you are feeling better. The fact that you replay the moments that begin the school day when you have to be out of school and are so concerned about your students speaks highly of you. They are so fortunate to have you as their teacher.

  10. Those same thoughts used to run through my head when I’d be away from school. The school day has a rhythm and it’s hard to step away, even when you aren’t feeling the best. I hope you are rested and ready to return tomorrow. I know the kids will be anxious for your return.

  11. This is so true, how we know each step of the school day and can’t leave it for a day of rest. My day of rest last week was not a school day, so I think it was more restful. I hope you feel better soon. Old man winter is holding on tight this year.

  12. I get rather obsessive about things when a sub is coming, and then I’m tempted to stay because everything is ship,shape. Never have given in to the urge though, and it’s always fun to come back to a clean room. Hope your day led to good rest and improved health.

  13. So sweet this thought of yours. Today I am not at school, my little boy is sick and our babysitter too. So, yes, a nightmare. This is the day off since September. But I was at school at the same time. When Orlando was sleeping I was in front of my PC screen communicating with my substitute, who is a wonderful person and a very skilled teacher too. I think, all in all, my students felt I was there even if not in person. Long life to ICT technologies!

Thank you for reading my blog! Please leave a comment and share your thoughts.

