Slice of Life March Challenge: March 25th., 2014 – Five Monday morning routines

images (4) download (5)

The March Slice of Life Challenge is hosted by Two Writing Teachers .  

Five Monday morning routines:

1. Flowers – I always begin the week with flowers on my desk.  The world looks much better on a Monday morning at 7:00 A.M. through a burst of color.

desk flowers

2. Wash down those desks! This is actually an every morning routine, but it seems different on a Monday morning – wipe off the weekend dust, prepare for a week of learning!

clorox wipes

3.  Anchor our week with the homework chart, the order of operations for the day, and the game plan for the week.  There it is – what we will accomplish together, my kids and I.

homework chart         homework week

4.  Set out the book talk books – here’s what’s new and wonderful to add to our reading lives!

new books

5.  Start something new/change up something old.  This week, we’re starting a Twitter chat around favorite quotes – and I found the perfect one to get my sixth graders Tweeting up a storm:

twitter chart

Five routines…done…welcome, new week of school!  After all, why not begin it on a positive note?!

Calvin-Hobbes-calvin-and-hobbes-23583501-495-486

22 thoughts on “Slice of Life March Challenge: March 25th., 2014 – Five Monday morning routines

  1. Those routines bring order into the week. Love that you start with flowers! I think I want to go back to sixth just so I can be a part of the world you create in this little place called your classroom.

  2. Tara,I was thinking about how you bought flowers at Trader Joe’s the other day and how you mentioned you did this weekly for your classroom, just this morning. What a lovely way to start the week and to me it sets the stage that this place where we learn together is a place of beauty! I might have to start this practice. 🙂

  3. This was a lovely slice letting us peak into your world. It was great to see your classroom and the flowers.I think that may have to be one of my new routines.

  4. Thank you for sharing your Monday routines. It really does give us a window into your classroom. Wouldn’t it be wonderful if we heard about the routines in all different classrooms? We could learn so much from each other.

    Thank you for opening your classroom to all of us!

  5. Oh, I absolutely LOVE these routines!!! Flowers on the desk every Monday – why didn’t I think of that? I think that’s just lovely. Also, even though it’s sad, your A Snicker of Magic quote is one of my favorites in the book. It’s so poignant. I would love to hear more about the Twitter chat! And I saved the Calvin and Hobbes quote. Adorable. I might have to use that as my profile picture one of these days – maybe right before the state tests just to cheer me up. 😉

  6. Love the flowers. 🙂 I found my last class was really in need of a posted routine. They spent a lot of time wondering what was next instead of worrying about what was happening in the moment. I think I need to get better at posting our goals.

  7. Loved this glimpse into your week through your Monday routines. I want to know more about the Twitter chat. And I still want to know more about the notetaking your students did for their research. Did I miss a post? Quite possible, I can’t keep up with everyone these days.

Thank you for reading my blog! Please leave a comment and share your thoughts.

