Poetry Friday: Thinking of Anne Frank…

download (3)

Poetry Friday is hosted by  Catherine Johnson

Anne Frank would have been 85 on Thursday, June 12th.  Imagine what she could have done, had the world not gone mad when she was a young girl, full of dreams and hopes and visions of what her life would be.  I spend my days with girls like Anne – so hopeful, dreamy, kind at heart, and with the same innocent wisdom.  I wish for all of them to realize what she was never given the chance to – even though we live in times when the world has, again, gone mad.

ap_anne_frank_jef_120611_wg

“It’s a wonder I haven’t abandoned all my ideals, they seem so absurd and impractical. Yet I cling to them because I still believe, in spite of everything, that people are truly good at heart. 
It’s utterly impossible for me to build my life on a foundation of chaos, suffering and death. I see the world being slowly transformed into a wilderness, I hear the approaching thunder that, one day, will destroy us too, I feel the suffering of millions. And yet, when I look up at the sky, I somehow feel that everything will change for the better, that this cruelty too shall end, that peace and tranquility will return once more”

– July 15, 1944

9 thoughts on “Poetry Friday: Thinking of Anne Frank…

  1. Pingback: Poetry Friday is here! | Catherine Johnson

  2. I admit to feeling a bit desperate lately about how to protect our young people from that “thunder” Anne mentions – the headlines have been unsettling. This is a good reminder to look for something that sustains us & helps us believe “peace and tranquility will return.” Thanks.

  3. Thank you for celebrating Anne and her indomitable spirit today! I read an article this morning about a completely appalling situation re: girls and women in India. Work needs to be done, and I think she is right that it’s impossible to build a life “on a foundation of chaos, suffering and death.”

  4. I am just finishing up listening to THE BOOK THIEF. Anne Frank’s words make a nice “text set” to go with it.

  5. Wow, what beautiful, wise words of young Anne.

    These words of yours ” I spend my days with girls like Anne – so hopeful, dreamy, kind at heart, and with the same innocent wisdom.” put me in mind of other girls, like the ones captured by the terrorists in Africa, or the poor girls now fleeing from their homes in Iraq (with their families). Somewhere there are girls still living in those wartime nightmares.

  6. What a lovely tribute to this beautiful life, Tara. I confess to not having finished her diary yet. Anne Frank truly is an inspirational young girl. 🙂

Thank you for reading my blog! Please leave a comment and share your thoughts.

