Slice of Life Tuesday: “Just a little trim, please.”

sol

 

Join us for the Tuesday Slice of Life writing community @ Two Writing Teachers

“Thwack!”

The instant the scissors snapped shut, the instant I saw a chunk of my hair  fall softly, mournfully, onto the floor below, I knew I was done for.  He would now have to go for symmetry, the architectural foundation of any haircut, and any plans I had had for “just a little trim” would soon be lying on the floor of the hair salon.

“Thwack!”

I closed my eyes and recalled my daughter’s words of warning as I stepped out of the house:

“Don’t do it, Mom. You know Marco.  Just wait until someone else is available – he’s gonna ruin your hair, he always does.”

True.  Several disastrous occasions came to mind instantly.  On one occasion, the night of the 8th. grade dance, I had promised Olivia that Marco would not fail her (as I had, forgetting to make the appointment with her hairdresser of choice)…but he did, and she cried all the way home and refused to talk to me for days after.

“It’s just a trim!” I said, feigning bravado and nonchalance, “What could go wrong?”

Olivia shot me a look that said, “I don’t even have to answer that, do I??!!”

But, what she said was, “I’ll be here for you, Mom, you’re gonna need me.”

When I opened my eyes, Marco had achieved symmetry – all around.  This was, as Olivia had so wisely predicted, not a trim but a disaster.  I heard the whir of the razor now bringing symmetry to the nape of my neck.  And then a satisfied, “Ta-da! Your summer trim -do you love it or what?!”

What was there to say?

As usual, Olivia said it best when I stepped in through the door.

“It’s okay, Mom, it’ll grow back. It’s summer anyway, you don’t have to leave the house if you don’t want to.”

hair cut

28 thoughts on “Slice of Life Tuesday: “Just a little trim, please.”

  1. Oh dear! Since the boys have been in school, I’ve been going to those $7.99 haircut places. Sometimes it’s ok, and sometimes, well, like Olivia says, it always does grow back. I love your sound effects! Thwack is a perfect word!

  2. Oh dear! I guess your idea of a trim and Marco’s don’t match. I love your daughter’s words, “I’ll be here for you, Mom, you’re gonna need me.” Too funny!

  3. Marco doesn’t seem to have the term “trim”in his repertoire. Your daughter is sweet, being there to support you, even though she could have pointed out that she had warned you.

  4. I have seen a few “Marcos.” That is why my hair is pulled into a ponytail until I find a new, improved “Marco.” I am not as brave as you are….

  5. I love your celebration banner (and why didn’t I think of that:).
    This is probably not so funny when it happens to you but it made for a a humorous story to read. Olivia said it best, “It’s okay, Mom, it’ll grow back. It’s summer anyway, you don’t have to leave the house if you don’t want to.” The perfect way to end this tale of woe.

  6. I was so wishing there would be pictures! Love the cartoon. So true! Mine is growing out and I hate it. I have to wear a headband to keep it out of my face and they bug me. As I write this, I have an abandoned headband on either side of the computer. My husband and daughter both tell me it makes me look younger. I may be getting the hack soon. I’ll let you know how it goes.

  7. No photo for us to vote if symmetry was achieved? 🙂 Been there. Your daughter is so right and it’s summer! Time for headbands and optional showering in the morning!

    Your word choice is inspiring. You really have a way with words that are sensory-rich. I often think that in each of your slices. Well done.

  8. I accidentally hit something…got cut off! Fantastic haircut story/disaster. I love how Olivia is “there for you” as you were there for her. Nothing can fix but time…
    And it really is cute! I’m smiling, just thinking of being with you. Will hold on to that lovely dinner, till next time!

  9. Loved this slice Tara! And your daughter’s words are well, priceless. I’m never worried about a haircut as it’s hair and it will grow back. But now that I think about it, I guess I’ve never had a bad haircut. I’m sure if you style it your way, it’ll be a cute summer ‘do! Or, enjoy staying in and reading. 🙂 Great voice and word choice throughout! A great mentor text!

  10. Those five words – Just a little trim, please – We’ve all been there. Love the banter between you and Olivia!

  11. Love your daughter’s comment. Who hasn’t had a bad haircut (trim) and I include men as well as women. Luckily, it does grow back. My reply to comments has always been, “Well, I don’t have to look at it.”

Thank you for reading my blog! Please leave a comment and share your thoughts.

