Slice of Life Tuesday: Learning from Seymour Simon

sol

Join us for the Tuesday Slice of Life writing community @Two Writing Teachers

Last Wednesday, I was chauffeured to Rutgers University by my Olivia.  She was looking forward to a day at the beach with her friends, and I was looking forward to a presentation by  Seymour Simon.  We were both thrilled for entirely different reasons.

Just a few weeks before, I had favorited (is that even a real Twitter term?!) this Tweet from Seymour, which spoke so much to the teacher I hope I am, every day, for my sixth graders:

Screen shot 2014-07-14 at 5.51.51 PMand I was looking forward to listening to what Seymour had been up to recently – in his writing, his website, his blog…and whatever his new endeavor might be. For Seymour Simon is a busy man!

photo (2)

I loved listening to Seymour’s stories about how he came to be a writer, and what motivates him to keep learning and sharing what’s new in the scientific world through his always engaging books.  We explored Writing Wednesdays on his blog – such a great idea that I had to let everyone out there on my Twitter feed know about it right away:

Screen shot 2014-07-14 at 6.06.34 PM

And, best of all, we were introduced to Star Walks Kids Media – an amazing digital library that is free all the month of July (I wish I’d known of this earlier – it would have made it’s way into my sixth grade summer reading list!)…here’s the charming invitation:

Screen shot 2014-07-14 at 5.56.40 PMand here’s what the main search page looks like:

Screen shot 2014-07-14 at 5.56.01 PM

The selection of titles is amazing…here for instance is Jane Yolen’s Bird Watch (illustrated by Ted Lewin) in all its glory:

Screen shot 2014-07-14 at 5.54.26 PM

which can be read and listened to!

I loved exploring the site, tagging non fiction books I would love to purchase for my classroom, learning more about authors and illustrators, and viewing the book trailers included. An amazing resource!

When Olivia picked me up, she was tanned and happy.  And I was happy too, to have spent time listening to and being inspired by Seymour Simon.

SeymourSimon

18 thoughts on “Slice of Life Tuesday: Learning from Seymour Simon

  1. Such a wonderful experience! I love how both you and your daughter enjoyed your days in completely separate, yet fulfilling, ways. Thank you for the resources about Seymour Simon. (BTW-The link to Star Walks isn’t working. 🙂
    ~Jennifer
    Sweet Writing Life

  2. Thanks, Tara! I was so hoping that you would tell us more about your day with Seymour Simon. The layers of meaning and author’s craft in his own books amazes me but that doesn’t hold a candle to what is available at Star Walk Kids!

    So glad that you and Olivia could both spend time together and apart!

  3. I didn’t know about Simon’s blog, so thanks for that, & the Starwalk sounds wonderful-will check it out too. Nice for you and Olivia both to have terrific days, & to have the car ride together. Thanks, Tara.

  4. Sounds like a great day! Thank you so much all the info on Seymour Simon. He is quite amazing. I have never met him but based on his tweets he seems quite a joyful person. I’m going to investigate his many links today. I need to beef up my info text bins!

  5. What inspiring people both you and Seymour Simon are. I love the tweet that you shared, and I am sure that you would enjoy your own class! I also love the idea of making sure that you are inspiring and cultivating enthusiasm. Thank you for sharing the Star Walks website. My daughters and nephews are going to be on that one this week!

  6. What a perfect day for both you and your daughter. And you were able to squeeze in some together time as well! Thank you also for introducing me to a new author and educator!

  7. I love the way you began and ended with your daughter and both parties so satisfied with their day. Seymour Simon is one prolific writer! You were so fortunate to spend a day with him!

  8. Donalyn also brought up Mr. Simon’s website at nerd camp. I will have to check it out. I love the enthusiasm certain presenters bring to the table. It’s something you can’t fake or pretend, yet it’s contagious!

Thank you for reading my blog! Please leave a comment and share your thoughts.

