Celebrate this week @ #clebratelu :August 16th., 2014

Discover. Play. Build.

Celebrate with Ruth Ayres @ ruth ayres writes  …. because, we need to celebrate moments in our lives every chance we get!

It’s back from vacation, back to school (or, getting ready to do so).  But, I wanted to take this Celebration Saturday to mark a few of my summer celebrations…before they fade into  all the “stuff” of my daily working/living  life:

I am so thankful to have been able to see my parents this summer: we live an ocean apart, and even though the phone lines are always buzzing between London and New Jersey, there is nothing quite like seeing them first thing in the morning and last thing at night again.

mother and steve

After thirty two years, my husband Scott remains my favorite travel companion. Who else could be so much fun to be with, whether we are in search of  obscure but fascinating historic sites, theater in all its forms, perfecting the at of the selfie, or a morning spent looking over ancient manuscripts?  So, I celebrate Scott.

photo 4  photo 3 (2) photo 1 (7)photo 2 (7)

And finally, I celebrate the fact that I will soon be walking through my classroom door, ready to greet another crop of sixth graders and begin a year of learning and growing together.  My room has a long way to go before I can sort the boxes and recreate our learning space, but I am ready. So, I celebrate that!

classroom door

Thank you, Ruth, for giving us this lovely Saturday event – check out other celebrations here!

17 thoughts on “Celebrate this week @ #clebratelu :August 16th., 2014

  1. You celebration of your husband is lovely. I find the pervasiveness of jokes about marriage being a drag from people who’ve been married a while dismaying and also discordant with all the elation and hype around engagements/weddings going on with friends my age. It’s great to read that you and Scott enjoy each other and the world together after 32 years!

    Looking forward to reading about your classroom in the new school year!

  2. I love how you celebrate your family! It must be hard to live so far from your parents, it’s great you got the chance to spend time with them this summer. I, too, am in the midst of preparing the classroom for my new sixth graders. Best of luck to you in your preparations!! 🙂

  3. What a lovely celebration of your travel companion! I hope your husband read your post! How wonderful that you have spent time with your parents over the summer. I love the picture of them sitting on the stone wall! I have British heritage on my mother’s side and my husband and I walked the Cotswold Way for our honeymoon (17 years ago!) Many of your photos reminded me of our walk. I am sadly unable to prepare my classroom for my students because we are in the middle of a labour dispute and teachers are on strike. Hopefully it settles soon!

  4. Life is grand when you have a travel companion! You and Scott are so like Mike and me. Enjoy your setting up of your class, it will be a great year for this “crop” of sixth graders.

  5. That is great that you took the time to celebrate your husband. I think out of everyone that I am close with, it’s probably my husband that I say ‘thank you’ to the least. I need to take the time and change that! Welcome back 🙂

  6. I’m so happy that you had such a wonderful trip, seeing your parents and all those adventures with Scott! How great to have such an easy traveling companion! I imagine it was hard to say goodbye to this vacation, Tara. On to our “other” lives, right? Best wishes to you in this start of a new school year-thinking of you!

  7. I have been enjoying your travel pictures on FB. How great that you were able to spend time with your parents. Like me, you are probably realizing how precious these times are. All my best as you begin another year. I get my students on Monday. I am ready!

  8. What a wonderful trip and traveling companion. You are so lucky to have someone to share those passions with. Fun, funny things you love together- not just with anyone.

    Your classroom door looks so welcoming. Can’t wait to go inside.

  9. We just had our 32nd anniversary. Lance was out of town, so looking forward to a delayed celebration. Love your pics from England. I clicked on the sign about the barrow trying to read more because I can’t resist an informational sign. Happy beginning of another year – your students are so lucky!

  10. Tara this just illustrates what I believe about you. I think you choose wisely, visiting parents, appreciating your husband friend and anticipating joy in the arrival of new students. Happy celebrating!

  11. The celebration of family is always on the top of my list. Love the fact that you travel across the pond to visit your parents and continue to create more memories for you and Scott. Thanks for sharing the photos.

  12. I am happy for you that you had a chance to see your parents. I cheer to your marriage. I wish that the new school year will be an exciting adventure.

Thank you for reading my blog! Please leave a comment and share your thoughts.

