Digilit Sunday: Tour Builder

diglit sunday

Digilit Sunday was created and is hosted by Margaret Simon @ Reflections on the Teche – join us and share your

digital teaching ideas

At a Google Seminar this summer, I was introduced to Tour Builder.  Here is how Google explains the site:

What is Tour Builder?

Tour Builder is a new way to show people the places you’ve visited and the experiences you had along the way using Google Earth. It lets you pick the locations right on the map, add in photos, text, and video, and then share your creation.

What inspired the creation of Tour Builder?

We originally created Tour Builder to give veterans a way to record all the places that military service has taken them, and preserve their stories and memories as a legacy for their families. But we also thought it could be a useful tool for anyone with a story to tell, so we made it available to everyone.

I’ve been meaning to experiment with it ever since, knowing that it would lend itself to new ways of making my Social Studies lessons more engaging for my students.  Well, I finally got around to creating my first effort for tomorrow’s lesson on the Magna Carta:

http://tourbuilder.withgoogle.com/builder#play/ahJzfmd3ZWItdG91cmJ1aWxkZXJyEQsSBFRvdXIYgICA-M6r-AkM

It’s just a start, and I know that teachers far more creative than me will be able to do amazing things with this site.  It’s definitely one worth playing around with.  Better still, it’s definitely one worth turning over to our students – they will amaze us!

2 thoughts on “Digilit Sunday: Tour Builder

  1. This is so cool. I was mesmerized. I want to share with my students. They love Google Earth. I’m wondering how we can use it for our Wonder enrichment project.

  2. This is great! When I taught Social Studies, I used to have kids write a Regional Travel Diary (fictional) as a culminating unit to our regions unit. This would have been great to do as a part of it! I think it would also be a great tool for writing memoirs.

Thank you for reading my blog! Please leave a comment and share your thoughts.

