Poetry Friday: September Tomatoes – Karina Borowicz

download (3)

Poetry Friday is hosted by Tricia @ The Miss Rumphius Effect

We haven’t planted summer tomatoes for many years now, but it used to be a family tradition to haul out the big clay pots sometime late in May, and stake out some tomato vines.  Then, we’d water and watch as blossoms appeared, and were transformed into juicy fruits we could pick. These days, our tomato picking is reserved for the Sunday farmer’s market, but I was reminded of our “old way” when I passed by a neighbor’s discarded tomato vines.

gardentomatoes_2869088b

September Tomatoes

by Karia Borowicz

The whiskey stink of rot has settled
in the garden, and a burst of fruit flies rises
when I touch the dying tomato plants.
Still, the claws of tiny yellow blossoms
flail in the air as I pull the vines up by the roots
and toss them in the compost.
It feels cruel. Something in me isn’t ready
to let go of summer so easily. To destroy
what I’ve carefully cultivated all these months.
Those pale flowers might still have time to fruit.
My great-grandmother sang with the girls of her village
as they pulled the flax. Songs so old
and so tied to the season that the very sound
seemed to turn the weather.
better-bush-container
10 thoughts on “Poetry Friday: September Tomatoes – Karina Borowicz

  1. I love tomatoes, but they’ve been lacking in the stores this year. In fact, I haven’t been able to get heirloom tomatoes at all. I realize this isn’t a big deal, but I do love the way those taste as the air gets cooler.

  2. I love the last thought in that poem – how the song itself seemed to turn the weather – the way it is supposed to be, if we are listening and paying attention to the signs. Thanks for sharing!

  3. Yes, exactly. I haven’t wanted to pull the last pepper plants, just in case a few more flowers have time to fruit. We are still getting tomatoes at the CSA as well. Hanging on… and singing the season change songs at the same time. Lovely poem.

  4. I haven’t planted for years either, but this makes me want to next year. What beautiful pictures, and the poem is lovely: “Something in me isn’t ready
    to let go of summer so easily.” Thanks, Tara!

  5. I didn’t plant any tomatoes this year, and oh, how I missed them! I love the words, “…the claws of tiny yellow blossoms
    flail in the air.” Love your pics – next spring I’m definitely planting tomatoes again.

  6. Pingback: Poetry Friday Is On! | TiaMart Blog

Thank you for reading my blog! Please leave a comment and share your thoughts.

