Poetry Friday: Dog in Bed by Joyce Sidman

download (3)

Poetry Friday is hosted by Keri @ Keri Recommends

For my dog, Sophie, who waits patiently for her walks, but takes up the entire bed….

Dog in Bed

by Joyce Sidman

Nose tucked under tail,
you are a warm, furred planet
centered in my bed.
All night I orbit, tangle-limbed,
in the slim space
allotted to me.
If I accidentally
bump you from sleep,
you shift, groan,
drape your chin on my hip.
O, that languid, movie-star drape!
I can never resist it.
Digging my fingers into your fur,
kneading,
      I wonder:
How do you dream?
What do you adore?
Why should your black silk ears
feel like happiness?
This is how it is with love.
Once invited,
it steps in gently,
circles twice,
and takes up as much space
as you will give it.
12 thoughts on “Poetry Friday: Dog in Bed by Joyce Sidman

  1. Tara,
    Since I do not own a pet, I can only imagine how wonderful it must be to curl up with one in a rested position. The lines that resonated with me are:
    Once invited,
    it steps in gently,
    circles twice,
    and takes up as much space
    as you will give it.
    Enjoy Sophie’s walk and then her restful sleep.

  2. Isn’t that just the truth? My cat happens to be the one to do this. However, if I move my legs in the night there is no languid resting of chin, just claws that try to evidently protect me from myself.. I try not to move all night.

  3. I love this poem. I know people who don’t let their dogs get in bed, but I can’t imagine a night without Boo at my shoulder and Star pressed against my legs. And your Sophie is a cutie! Such a happy smile!

  4. Leave it to Joyce S. to perfectly capture this familiar experience! We’ve shared sleeping quarters with canines for more than a quarter of a century, I guess….
    Sophie is adorable. Thanks for sharing!

Thank you for reading my blog! Please leave a comment and share your thoughts.

