Slice of Life Tuesday: #Ferguson

sol

 

Join the Slice of Life Writing Community @ Two Writing Teachers

I was going to post a slice in gratitude for this writing community, and for the marvelous experience that was NCTE 14.

But then I heard the verdict in the case of Michael Brown.

And, now I have nothing to say.

I’m trying to focus on Rep. John Lewis’ words

  1. Only love can overcome hate. Only nonviolence can overcome violence.

  2. I know this hard. I know this is difficult. Do not succumb to the temptations of violence. There is a more powerful way.

and I’m trying to imagine an America in which his words really have hope, in which his words can really come true.

B3QYCGzCIAEfXmP

23 thoughts on “Slice of Life Tuesday: #Ferguson

  1. Seeing from afar seems unbelievable. So very tragic for that community, and all. The two quotes you have posted hold so much truth. A tragedy they have not been heard.

  2. I’m so glad you wrote about this. I couldn’t, and I felt stupid posting a slice about bus duty. In times like these, I too look at what other inspiring people have said – words can help us figure it out… I hope.

  3. I have a dear family member in this area, and I just am watching with open eyes and a sense of confusion. Thank you for taking on this important topic. This is a conversation that is so important. I’m not sure what to say, and I think right now that’s okay. I know I’m going to work today with the sense I need to hug all my kiddos and show them kindness.

  4. Thoughful, reflective and inspirational as always. My son, who is a Freshman, and I read your post this morning as we discussed what is happening right now in the news. He has read the book and loved the connection you made. Thank you for helping me bridge the conversation with my family this morning — it was as if you were here with us, guiding us.
    Clare

  5. Tara, at times like this words sometimes fail us. You chose the perfect words. On another note, I really enjoyed meeting you and talking with you over the weekend.

  6. Tara, I wrote my slice before the news came out. So it is gloriously selfish and celebratory. Having been raised in a southern city that has been the site of many riots and wrongdoings, I have deep set feelings and grief. The book I wrote, Blessen, reflects the race struggle. And when I wrote it, I did believe things were better, but Ferguson has shown us that these wounds will not heal quickly. We really do need to stop and think about what we say to our children, and what we say out loud to the greater community. Our words matter.

  7. Thanks for sharing, Tara. Felt helpless watching the news before bed last night. I always appreciate John Lewis’s words/perspective – thanks for posting them here, along with an (unfortunately) timeless quote from such a brilliant book.

  8. Your post hits on a poignant and scary “slice” of our society. I believe we learn and grow from the events and actions of ourselves and others. For me, I am holding tight to the precious nature and brevity of life – for all of us.

  9. I too was heartsick by the decision. Thanks for sharing your honest response. We attended the Seattle Rep play “All the Way” yesterday about LBJ. I was saddened by how much things have not changed since the passage of the Civil Rights Act. My daughter sent me a link to Jacqueline Woodson’s essay in the NYT. I shared with her the response of my slicer friends. – such a sad moment for Jacqueline Woodson and so many in attendance.

Thank you for reading my blog! Please leave a comment and share your thoughts.

