Celebrate @ #clebratelu : November 29th., 2014

celebrate link up

Celebrate with Ruth Ayres @ ruth ayres writes  …. because, we need to celebrate moments in our lives every chance we get!

Today, I’m celebrating:

IMG_0140 IMG_0141 IMG_0162

Time with my three children.  I don’t blog much about them because their lives are not my story to tell, but I am grateful and proud of the people they are.  Spending time with all three of them in one place is hard to do these days, when they are busy building lives of their own outside the circle of our family life.  So I celebrate this Thanksgiving break, when the sounds of their voices and their laughter filled our home once again.

10385366_10204730670602847_3520363980185546565_n

My memories of presenting with the Two Writing teachers team (sans Beth Moore, who was much missed) at NCTE 14. This was such an exhilarating experience, especially since it was in the company of so many of our SOL writing community.

1781910_10153385746208135_4253468112938435306_n IMG_0076

And my memories of meeting anew the many amazing and dedicated teachers I blog with and link up through Twitter every day.  Teaching can never be a lonely profession when it is shared with such people.

IMG_0063

Being in the room to hear Jacqueline Woodson speak about Brown Girl Dreaming.  I was spellbound by her grace and humanity, her sense of humor and  her utter honesty.  We are fortunate to have her voice crafting stories for us today.

15 thoughts on “Celebrate @ #clebratelu : November 29th., 2014

  1. What great pictures of your kids! It must be great to have everyone home for the holidays. It was such a JOY to finally meet you and listen to your session at NCTE! I look forward to the chance to see you again!

  2. I know the joy of having children home to celebrate (unfortunately I did not get that experience this year). I can only imagine the awesomeness of every moment of NCTE.

  3. I too am enjoying time with my children – so happy to have my son home from school. What great professional experiences and yes, we are so fortunate to have Jacqueline Woodson sharing her stories with us.

  4. I also loved being in the room (twice!) with Jacqueline Woodson and hearing her stories. What a terrific and inspiring speaker she is! I am looking forward to reading more of her books over winter break. I still have several I haven’t read. Loved seeing the pictures of your children and reading about your holiday celebrations.

  5. What beautiful children and a celebration full of love. So happy to be pictured here celebrating with you. I love how you included Jacqueline Woodson. Her speech and presence was spellbinding. Did you see her NYTimes article?

  6. I loved reading this post and seeing the family together for Thanksgiving. My boys are in high school but I know it won’t be long before they are “coming home” to visit! Loved seeing your photos from the NCTE. I am hoping to go next year! Thanks for sharing these moments, Tara!

Thank you for reading my blog! Please leave a comment and share your thoughts.

