Celebrate @ #clebratelu : December 6th., 2014

celebrate link up

Celebrate with Ruth Ayres @ ruth ayres writes  …. because, we need to celebrate moments in our lives every chance we get!

Today, I just want to celebrate my students: their willingness to try new avenues of inquiry, their curiosity about the world they live in, their can do spirit – when given the freedom to spread their wings and fly.  Every year, as part of our unit on the early history of America, we embark on the “D.C. Project” –   http://zunal.com/webquest.php?w=175656.  Although I guide my kids through the research process, the final product, the way they choose to show what they have learned, is left entirely up to them.  My kids don’t necessarily regard this freedom as a blessing at first, they would rather be told exactly what to do: how many paragraphs, how many pictures, and (above all) the format.

But, this is where I hold firm. No, I tell them, this part is entirely up to you. Figure it out. Dream it up. Surprise me..and you will also surprise yourself.

And this is what my kiddos walked into our  classroom with on Friday:

 

IMG_0190 IMG_0192 IMG_0197 IMG_0198 IMG_0200

 

No two projects looked anything alike.  Our gallery walk was a time of “Wow!” and “Cool!” and “Awesome!”…also of “How did you do that?!” and “What made you think of this?”

At the end of our sharing time, I thanked them…and I (I’m embarrassed to say) cried.  I told them how proud I was to be their teacher, and how their spirit of “can do, will find a way to do” inspires me to be a better teacher.  We are linked, really, in that way.

I celebrate my students!

 

11 thoughts on “Celebrate @ #clebratelu : December 6th., 2014

  1. Your kids give you lots to celebrate. Awesome projects! I can only imagine the buzz during their gallery walk as they see how others interpreted their learning into a visual.

  2. And so I celebrate YOU, the magnificent teacher who encouraged real thinking, reflecting and learning – and then cried a few tears of happiness. Thank you for sharing this wonderful moment.

  3. YAY!!!!! I had a similar experience this week. Whenever they are given the freedom of choice, they always exceed my wildest dreams. I LOVE the projects your students created!!! Such creativity! Such passion! LOVE it!!! Tara, I celebrate your students too!!! So MUCH to celebrate!!

  4. I love that you cried. You are such a passionate teacher and it shows in everything you do. What a wonderful celebration of creativity.

  5. Love this: “Figure it out. Dream it up. Surprise me..and you will also surprise yourself.” Your kiddos learned a huge lesson! What a gift you give to your students.

  6. Thanks for sharing the photos! They are amazing, and the writing on them! I aspire to more and better writing instruction. Always so much to do. I’m glad your students see and feel your proud feelings!

  7. Hooray for your students! And hooray for you for giving them the opportunity to shine. Independent projects are where true learning occurs. I’m sure your students will be drawing on the lessons they learned during this unit for a long time.

Thank you for reading my blog! Please leave a comment and share your thoughts.

