Digilit Sunday: Digital learning resolutions for the new year

diglit sunday

Digilit Sunday was created and is hosted by Margaret Simon @ Reflections on the Teche – join us and share your digital teaching ideas!

With just three days to Winter Break, the last Digilit Sunday of the year is the perfect time to take a moment to make some digilit resolutions for the new year:

1. Get more active and organized about our class Twitter page:

Screen shot 2014-12-21 at 9.36.01 AM

We have just begun to dip our toes into the Twitter world of authors and other classrooms who are just as excited about reading as we are, but I’d like to see us become a bit more organized and consistent about Tweeting and following up on our favorite authors.  Perhaps it’s time to connect with specific classrooms and have Twitter chats about books? Or find more focused ways of interacting with authors? #5bookFriday  (thank you Katie and Kristin!) has become a wonderful new tradition in my classroom, with students book talking 5 books every Friday and inspiring each other to keep our reading enthusiasm going.  But, we could be doing something more! So, that’s a resolution to figure out and work towards.

2. Get going with Google classroom:

At long last, we now have access to Google classroom.  On Tuesday, each of my students will head down to the Media Center to log onto some of the classrooms I’ve set up.  Again, I have no idea how all of this will turn out, but my hope is to make some of our thinking and writing much more interactive through this process.  We have been writing and blogging together since September, Google classroom might be a wonderful way in which to widen our scope and grow even more.

Screen shot 2014-12-21 at 9.31.28 AM

3. Explore digital writing sites like Animoto and make them viable options for reading responses, book talks, poetry, and much more. Margaret’s post today is exactly what I hope to be working towards in 2015.

4. Experiment with Google Earth and Voice Thread in my Social Studies classes so that our projects become more digital and interactive (and way more cool ).  I would love to be able to flip our classroom so that my kids are designing virtual tours which they can research and present, rather than that role being limited to just me. This is definitely a resolution that my kids will be more than happy to help me meet!

5. Take our Wonderopolis journey one step further. We begin our Wonder Circles after Winter Break – inquiry projects using Wonderopolis.  This would be a fabulous opportunity for my students to experiment with different types of digital tools for their presentations.  I’m thinking that our Google classroom access will really come in handy during this enterprise, so that’s something else to be working on.

Thank you, Margaret, for giving us this weekly chance to share our ideas and become inspired by each others’ spirit of adventure in this amazing, daunting, digital universe. Here’s to another year of learning together!

 

2 thoughts on “Digilit Sunday: Digital learning resolutions for the new year

  1. I like this idea of listing digital literacy resolutions. I am excited to hear about your plans. I hope you will continue to connect and let us have a window into your classroom.

Thank you for reading my blog! Please leave a comment and share your thoughts.

