It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? #IMWAYR January 12th., 2015 – Semour Simon and Jandy Nelson

Mon Reading Button PB to YA

It’s Monday, What are You Reading is a meme hosted by Jen from Teach Mentor Texts and Kellee and Ricki from Unleashing Readers and Sheila at BookJourney

I have read such glowing accounts about Jandy Nelson’s I’ll Give You The Sun, so I was happy to be able to finally get to it.  Here’s the jacket copy:

Jude and her brother, Noah, are incredibly close twins. At thirteen, isolated Noah draws constantly and is falling in love with the charismatic boy next door, while daredevil Jude surfs and cliff-dives and wears red-red lipstick and does the talking for both of them. But three years later, Jude and Noah are barely speaking. Something has happened to wreck the twins in different and divisive ways…until Jude meets a cocky, broken, beautiful boy, as well as an unpredictable new mentor. The early years are Noah’s story to tell. The later years are Jude’s. What the twins don’t realize is that they each have only half the story, and if they could just find their way back to one another, they’d have a chance to remake their world.

This was a beautifully written book, one which seems to perfectly capture all the idealism, angst, yearning, and capacity to love and forgive that seems to exist in such contrary abundance in our teenage kids.  The story is written in two voices which blend together quite powerfully, and the way the two narratives intertwine to create the larger picture, is just so well done.  I loved the way Nelson was able to write within the teenage perspective, especially when it comes to analyzing and critiquing  the adult world  This is a complex and mature story, however, definitely eighth grade and up (language, and sexual content), and one that I would happily hand over to my ex-students who are such great John Green fans.

Product Details  Product Details  Product Details Product Details

We have just completed the first round of our non-fiction book groups, and I owe Seymour Simon another big “thank you” for his work in writing engaging and informative books.  These books are the foundation for our nonfiction investigations, and they are exactly the kind of inspiring mentor texts that launch meaningful and exciting forays into the reading and writing of nonfiction for our kids. I cannot have enough copies of these books, and the fact that we can link to Simon’s blog  to extend our reading, is a wonderful bonus. 

9 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? #IMWAYR January 12th., 2015 – Semour Simon and Jandy Nelson

  1. I’ll Give You The Sun is making the rounds in class. I haven’t read it yet, sounds like a must read. Glad you like the Seymour Simon books; they are good for our students who are studying certain topics. Thanks, Tara.

  2. I’m looking forward to I’ll Give You The Sun. The Seymour Simon books are full of great information, but I am not a fan of how they are laid out. I wish they had tables of content, indexes, glossaries, and just more text features. I admit that we use them when we are analyzing what makes a great nonfiction book.

  3. I’ll Give You the Sun, wow what a read. I agree it is for more mature readers. These characters at 13 seem a little too mature for my liking since I have boy/girl twins who are 12. Yikes. A beautiful and passionate book!

Thank you for reading my blog! Please leave a comment and share your thoughts.

