Digilit Sunday: Google Classroom…how did I live without it?!

diglit sunday

Digilit Sunday was created and is hosted by Margaret Simon @ Reflections on the Teche – join us and share your digital teaching ideas!

Google Classroom was made available to us just before the winter break, and I could not wait to get started experimenting with its use in my Writing Workshop, Language Arts, and Social Studies classes. I had great fun setting up the classes, which is easy to do.

Screen Shot 2015-01-18 at 9.19.02 AM

I set all our classrooms up so that my kids could both post and comment.  We’ve been blogging every week with our Slice of Life entries since  September, so my kids know how to comment in respectful, constructive ways.  I love the fact that I can respond back with specific comments and suggestions, and that the feedback is instantaneous – my students can see exactly what needs adjustment, and they are then free to go back and make them for additional credit.  Writing is a learning process, after all, and I focus less on grades than on my kids’ willingness to edit and revise their writing.  Here’s what such a suggestion would look like:

Screen Shot 2015-01-18 at 10.05.48 AM

I have my gradebook (we use Genesis in our school)open at the same time, so I am inputting grades and inserting comments there at the same time; this is where I let my students know that their work needs editing/revision for a better grade.  The initial grade stands for work that is not improved upon.  This way, my sixth graders know what is expected and how their work has been graded – there should never be mystery about the way grades are assigned.

Setting up reading journal assignments has become easier, too.  With the PARCC test just around the corner, I’m trying to align some of these assignments with what I’ve seen on the practice tests – not my favorite type of thing to do, but there you go.  Google Classroom let’s me upload material that would be helpful to my kids as they go about writing these responses – templates, etc. for them to refer to:

Screen Shot 2015-01-18 at 9.21.33 AM

Best of all, as classmates post their essays and I comment, these also serve as mentor texts for students as they post.  My stronger writers tend to post first, and this gives their classmates  ideal student-generated mentor texts to work with as they frame their own responses. They LOVE this!

Finally, Social Studies projects have become much more streamlined – everything goes on one Google Classroom page, with room to leave comments so that I know exactly who is struggling with what, and can therefore point them in the right direction.

Screen Shot 2015-01-18 at 9.19.52 AM

I left my building on Friday with just my backpack full of my notebooks – no more five trips back and forth to schlep reading journals, writing folders, Social Studies notebooks.  Hooray!

I know that there is much more for me to learn about Google Classrooms, and that I have barely scratched the surface of what can be done. I’ve been following the amazing Alice Keeler on Twitter, and can barely keep up with all that she suggests can be done…but, I’ve made a start!

6 thoughts on “Digilit Sunday: Google Classroom…how did I live without it?!

  1. Yay Google classrooms! The communication possibilities are amazing. I don’t know when or if we will get there as a district. It sounds perfect for you. I just got my students their school emails set up so they can use google docs. That’s a start I guess. Just wondering, are students writing on google docs and then uploading their posts to a separate blog site? Alice Keeler is amazing. I’ve been fortunate to hear her at edcamps and CUE conferences in Southern California. Thanks for sharing Tara.

  2. This is a wonderful, efficient use of technology where the learning is enhanced and technology becomes the tool. Love that the stronger students post first and inadvertently provide mentor texts. Thanks for linking up today and sharing!

  3. Tara- I love having this glimpse into your classroom. I love the ease of Google Classroom and have been using it with fourth and fifth graders this year. It has helped tremendously with safe access to other areas of the web, including news articles, padlet sites, safe search areas, etc. The commenting features are also great! Is is nice to be able to see the students’ writing at any time.

  4. I have really enjoyed reading about Google Classroom. It seems to have so many possibilities. It hasn’t been opened yet in our district, but I’ve heard great things from others. As I read your post I enjoyed reading all of the ways you use this to connect with your students. I’m trying to figure out how Google Classroom is similar to, and different from, Google Plus Communities.

Thank you for reading my blog! Please leave a comment and share your thoughts.

